Forum > Decoders > Installation > 3way Extraview with twinLNB / 5-2 switch possible?
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2017-02-24 , 14:20
ShaunB ShaunB is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 472
Ah thanks Opti.

Sucks cause I got an Explora 1 now and will get the Explora 2a when my SDPVR dies. Guess I'll have to take the plunge and buy a smartlnb.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2017-02-24 , 14:27
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,483
Sure thing.

You could instead replace the older switch with the newer 24-1Z "Smart Switch", that would work as well.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2017-02-24 , 14:29
ShaunB ShaunB is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 472
Yeah.. thing is I have all the "stuff" that I sketched.. so I wouldn't need to buy anything. If I have to spend the money I might as well get the slnb I s'pose.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2017-02-24 , 14:46
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,194
Okay thanks MC Field Services. Another piece of the puzzle finally in place. The twists and curved balls from MC never cease!

In that case, the Explora switches become useless.

The SLNB is the only way to go. The rest of the distribution stuff will work on the RF side.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15

Last edited by Geoff D; 2017-02-24 at 16:18. .
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2017-02-27 , 08:47
MC Field Services MC Field Services is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 295
both the Slnb and 24-1Z switch allow for additional userbands .
old Slnb lmx 500 has 24 userbands
the new Slnb Lmx 501 has 30 userbands
the 5.1 and 5.2 switch only has 5 userbands
the 24-1z switch has 24 userbands
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2017-02-27 , 10:25
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,194
Thanks. The major issues is sharing between Explora 1 and Explora 2A decoders. If this was possible then even the Explora switch could be used in some installations. But with MC choosing to change how the system works, it makes older switch installation just about useless.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2nd extraview using dstv switch rossouw18 Installation 4 2016-08-18 17:28
multi switch to multi switch l3ok Installation 11 2012-10-26 14:12
Is it safe to switch off HDPVR at night scud HD PVR 17 2009-10-05 23:12
SS2 switch on SS3 Rafay DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 0 2009-05-15 19:30
Should you switch off your decoder? Nico_Geldenhuys Standard decoder 3 2009-04-30 15:37