Forum > Decoders > Installation > Remote link eye
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-02-23 , 21:24
abswart abswart is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6
Default Remote link eye

Hi
I purchased a new eye from Ellies.I have installed the eye and have power and I am picking up the channel but cannot change channels or volume via the eye. The installation hints included in the packaging are badly reprinted so I cannot read the last instruction which says "enable TV link on decoder. Please could someone post the instructions to enable the TV link/remote eye.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-02-23 , 22:28
ShaunB ShaunB is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 472
Hi

It varies.. which decoder do you have? For the explora it's:

Press Menu
Settings
System settings
Remote Control
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-02-24 , 08:21
abswart abswart is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6
Hi Shaun
Thanks for the reply.I will try that a little later. I did have an eye attached which stopped working(no power light) and purchased a new eye which is slightly different from the old one.Do I still have to enable the settings on the decoder or do you think there could be another problem.
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-02-24 , 08:45
ShaunB ShaunB is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 472
If it was working before and the light went out on the previous one, and the light is still out on this new one, then more than likely the problem is either with the decoder not giving it enough juice, or something on your cable run is preventing enough juice from getting to it (possible bad join).

Remember to disable and then re-enable the tvlink settings when making any changes so it can "re-calibrate".
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-02-24 , 09:22
MC Field Services MC Field Services is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 295
Enable the TV link in the menu ,Test the Tv link at back of the decoder and at the back of your Tv set. If the Tv link works at the back of the decoder and not at your Tv set, than you will need to test each joint along the cable run, end to end testing to establish where the Tv link stops functioning.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-02-24 , 09:24
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,195
Did you change any of the cabling in the interim between it working and not working?

Did you reset the decoder to defaults by any chance?

It is quite possible that there is nothing wrong with the old tvLINK eye and that all that is wring is power to the tvLINK had not been activated or is not getting to the tvLINK because of a cabling issue.

tvLINK power is only available on the RF OUT port of the decoders. So make sure the cable is on the correct port.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-02-24 , 09:31
abswart abswart is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 6
Thanks guys
I was told by DSTV to reset the decoder by holding in the reset button for 5 seconds, so this could be the problem.I am getting power(red light)on new eye on the TV side. How do I enable the TV link?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-02-24 , 10:02
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,511
Quote:
Originally Posted by abswart View Post
How do I enable the TV link?
As mentioned earlier it varies for each decoder, so which decoder?
Reply With Quote
Reply
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote link eye abswart Installation 1 2017-02-24 09:28
Ellies Remote Link Eye for DStv VuvuMoG Installation 22 2012-04-16 19:59
Remote Link Eye CraigViking Remote Controls 2 2011-10-02 17:18
HDPVR/X-Tra view TV-Link Magic Eye remote Roolus Remote Controls 2 2010-11-07 21:01
tv link eye tHOMAS XtraView 5 2009-06-29 08:57