Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-02-22 , 18:01
Bandit Bandit is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 73
Default BROWSER SUPPORT

I see we now get told which browsers to use in order to watch any catch up or live stream.

One of the browsers suggested is Opera 33+ on Windows 10+. I currently use Opera 43.0 which is the latest version yet still get a message to "upgrade" my browser.

Is this still a glitch that needs to be ironed out or are we going to be forced to use Chrome, Firefox or Edge?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-02-22 , 18:13
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,338
MC will never learn.

That is why I gave up completely with their DSTV Now services in any form whatsoever.

Their system is just not fast enough to keep up with the developments in Browsers and versions because they still do not adhere to open standards.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-02-22 , 19:24
Luke7777's Avatar
Luke7777 Luke7777 is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Menlo Park Pretoria
Posts: 1,479
I can say it works with :
Chrome Version 56.0.2924.87 (64-bit)
Firefox 51.0.1 (32-bit)
MS Edge
IE11.576....
Opera
43.0.2442.991 (although it gives the upgrade message on the landing page, DStv Now works without a problem)
__________________
Quad LNB Explora switch 5.1
Explora (Primary) Pace 4P HDPVR (Secondary)
Xtraview - decoders same room - 3 distributed HDMI endpoints via 2x4 Matrix and Cat6
40Mb VDSL (ISP AH Capped Unshaped)
------------------------------------------
DSD1110 in holiday mode
DSTV Mobile via Drifta WiFi (S5& iPad)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-04-26 , 17:58
superkruz superkruz is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 7
I am using a Chromebook running Chrome OS. I updated my Chrome browser to version 58 and DSTV Now stopped working. The strange thing is that Catch-up TV worked just fine. I had to roll back my browser to a previous version to get DSTv Now working again. I wish MC would fix this.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-04-28 , 17:16
chrisc chrisc is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 216
When I watch DSTV on a Macbook, after a minute the picture disappears and "Error 3020" appears

What is this please?

I phoned the call centre and they started talking about the dish, etc. This has nothing to do with a dish, it is streamed via the internet. I have a 10mb fibre line, but they won't listen
__________________
If music be the food of love, play on

Last edited by chrisc; 2017-04-28 at 17:19. .
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-04-28 , 17:22
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisc View Post
When I watch DSTV on a Macbook, after a minute the picture disappears and "Error 3020" appears

What is this please?

I phoned the call centre and they started talking about the dish, etc. This has nothing to do with a dish, it is streamed via the internet. I have a 10mb fibre line, but they won't listen
You are right that has nothing to do with your install. The Internet is quite slow today so it could be timeout issues.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-06-03 , 13:51
Bandit Bandit is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 73
HELP!!!

I am using Opera Version: 45.0.2552.888 on Windows 10 and I still cannot watch anything. I still get a message to upgrade my browser when logging on. When I try to watch, I get a message "Cannot play video as your browser or operating system is not supported".

Any idea what I could do (apart from installing Chrome or Firefox)?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-06-04 , 10:25
Luke7777's Avatar
Luke7777 Luke7777 is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Menlo Park Pretoria
Posts: 1,479
Have just installed Opera on Win10. Logged in to CatchUp and played Chicago PD without a problem. Also tried The Captive (movie), no problem there either

Version:45.0.2552.888 (PGO) - Opera is up to date
Update stream:Stable
System:Windows 10 64-bit
__________________
Quad LNB Explora switch 5.1
Explora (Primary) Pace 4P HDPVR (Secondary)
Xtraview - decoders same room - 3 distributed HDMI endpoints via 2x4 Matrix and Cat6
40Mb VDSL (ISP AH Capped Unshaped)
------------------------------------------
DSD1110 in holiday mode
DSTV Mobile via Drifta WiFi (S5& iPad)
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2017-07-30 , 14:45
superkruz superkruz is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 7
Default CHROME V59

Running Chrome browser version 59 on Chrome OS - no luck with live TV for a couple of months now, although catch-up works fine. Sigh, it is so darn frustrating that the most widely used browser in the world is not properly supported.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2017-07-30 , 15:30
Luke7777's Avatar
Luke7777 Luke7777 is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Menlo Park Pretoria
Posts: 1,479
Tested with this and no live tv issues. (Win10) :Version 60.0.3112.78 (Official Build) (64-bit)
Maybe more OS support issue than browser ?

__________________
Quad LNB Explora switch 5.1
Explora (Primary) Pace 4P HDPVR (Secondary)
Xtraview - decoders same room - 3 distributed HDMI endpoints via 2x4 Matrix and Cat6
40Mb VDSL (ISP AH Capped Unshaped)
------------------------------------------
DSD1110 in holiday mode
DSTV Mobile via Drifta WiFi (S5& iPad)

Last edited by Luke7777; 2017-07-30 at 15:35. .
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which Browser are you using to access the forum? Geoff D Discussions 27 2016-11-13 16:03
DSTV now not playing in any browser! deonr DStv Now 5 2015-04-07 11:23
In Browser Demand Content Simon DStv Catch Up 4 2014-08-04 16:38
Tv guide browser / iPad / iPhone not working deesteevee DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 0 2012-02-07 16:38
DSTV Care Website and Opera browser Problems ernstn General 2 2010-09-03 13:38