Forum > Decoders > Installation > Changing from SD PVR to Pace 4T
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2017-02-20 , 11:36
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by wimps007 View Post
Can you elaborate on the changes that is coming?
MC will be adding "Hi Band" transponder services from the new second satellite, which will change quite a bit of how things will work technically.


Please take MC Marietjie's advice strongly into consideration, older decoders for a newer setup is not wise IMO.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2017-02-20 , 11:52
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,087
The most "future proof" option you can achieve in the short term is to make use of all 4 ports on the Quad LNB connected to a DSTV 24-1Z switch normally used in a MUD installation.

This device provides you with 4 SATCR/Unicable outputs, and 4 Universal outputs. This switch will allow easy migration to Explora decoders at a later stage while supporting the older decoders. So if you are contemplating buying any new LNBs or MS's consider this option.

In the meantime, the Quad LNB could be connected to a 2 x 4 MS for the 4 tuner decoder, and the other 2 ports used to feed the SD PVR. An alternative would be to use only 2 cables form the LNB, connected to a 2 x 6 MS, really the easiest option if both the decoders are going to be in the same room.

The 4 tuner decoder is the Primary and the SD PVR becomes the Secondary decoder. The "best" install is still with all the decoders in one place an RF distribution to remote TVs. Moving the SD PVR to another point makes the installation complicated and messy.

The installation requires a RF HC connection. Use the SLX type splitter as per the diagram poste by MC Field Services, which will provide for the HB connection and at the same time allows for RF distribution to m ore than one TV all using tvLINKs for remote control.

Sooner or later MC will have to take a decision on how to properly handle Hi-band transponders and the channels on those transponders. The current compromise solutions used are just too complicated.

The writing is on the wall for us users of older decoders, wanting to keep the dual view capability of the SD PVR. Sooner or later it will just become impossible to get all the services we have now.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD PVR Software download to PACE 4 Tuner & PACE 2 Tuner MC Fathima HD PVR 77 2013-08-01 20:21
HD PVR Software downlaod to PACE 4 Tuner and PACE 2 Tuner MC Fathima HD PVR 0 2013-06-11 07:42
Pace HD PVR (4) vs Pace HD PVR 2P WernerB HD PVR 13 2010-06-04 18:29
PVR remote only changing TV1 and ignoring TV2 coolj0800 Remote Controls 0 2009-10-19 18:34
SD-PVR not changing channels XRay SD PVR 5 2009-06-23 07:37