Forum > Customer service > Customer service > DSTV: Really Poor Service!
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2017-01-27 , 14:53
Geoff D Geoff D is online now
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandtonman View Post
Hi Geoff,
I frequently travel for extended periods, as you know. I turn the power off when away. It normally takes around an hour or so for the decoders to come back up with the necessary authorisations. I've never seen the messages and issues you've reported and never an overnight wait. I'll check again when I'm back in Jhb mid-Feb and post the results here. Cheers, K.
Thanks K. I was also quite taken aback because I did the same in November, but then I was away for only 9 days.

I made a point of starting up the Primary decoder first and HB became available as usual. Then the Secondary decoder started up and worked and the network scans were normal. BUT as soon as the service authentication steps kicked in the trouble started.

The errors I got were:

SC not valid for this decoder
SC not inserted
SC needs to be re-inserted.
SC error everyone else gets
The wrong region error.
Service has been suspended on both decoders at different times.
No HDD detected
HDD faulty in the UEC decoder.
Then finally a spate of E 19 errors.
After that a lot of reboots not triggered by myself.
Then the EPG failed to update on both decoders -- more network rescans.

Currently the Primary UEC HD decoder shows the correct "my channels" info, but the SD PVR is completely wrong. I cannot identify which package it is displaying. It is not the Premium, nor is it EasyView or any other. It is a mixture of what looks like Compact and Extra.

I would check on the decoders regularly and reboot them one by one. Primary first then secondary.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2017-01-27 , 16:08
MC Mpho's Avatar
MC Mpho MC Mpho is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 245
Hi All,

Herewith some feedback.

The smartcard products are cycled on a regular basis. If your decoder is switched off for 2 or 3 days (or longer) the smartcard would not have received all the product updates.
In such cases, you would normally get an E30 error banner or other error messages.

The product update for your smartcard would have eventually cleared the error.

When experiencing the E30-4 error, please try and clear it by using self-service from your cellphone by dialling the USSD code number *120*68584#.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2017-01-27 , 20:29
Geoff D Geoff D is online now
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,413
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Mpho View Post
Hi All,

Herewith some feedback.

The smartcard products are cycled on a regular basis. If your decoder is switched off for 2 or 3 days (or longer) the smartcard would not have received all the product updates.
In such cases, you would normally get an E30 error banner or other error messages.

The product update for your smartcard would have eventually cleared the error.

When experiencing the E30-4 error, please try and clear it by using self-service from your cellphone by dialling the USSD code number *120*68584#.



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Thanks for the feedback regarding the E30-4 error. I will probably try that next time.

So it is the "product updates" of the SC (whatever that is supposed to be, never mind I know what it is) that are behind a lot of these issues.

I presume therefore that the E30 error code clear "forces" all outstanding product updates to happen. If one leaves the decoder alone the updates take place sequentially one at a time?

Now what happens when you are not at home to be able to see what is going on and for one reason or another, the decoders get themselves into this state?

Hence why I say there is absolutely no point in leaving decoders running when away for an extended period. Just switch the whole bangshoot off.
Another one of the original ideas behind having a PVR facility bites the dust!
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2017-01-28 , 07:42
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 466
Geoff We were away during August and September a total 5 weeks. The first 2 weeks at the Holiday apartment in J Bay we used the 2P and the remaining 3 weeks in Knysna with my Daughter the decoder stayed in it's box, Back at home I connected the decoder and after booting up when the "Decoder Rebooted " message appeared I pressed exit to skip the rescan and smartcard check. I had full decoder functionality and the XV worked perfectly as well. No BO titles or CU titles though, those took about 3 weeks to populate.
__________________
Explora 2 + Pace HD PVR P2 XV SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2017-01-30 , 11:05
Geoff D Geoff D is online now
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jan Horn View Post
Geoff We were away during August and September a total 5 weeks. The first 2 weeks at the Holiday apartment in J Bay we used the 2P and the remaining 3 weeks in Knysna with my Daughter the decoder stayed in it's box, Back at home I connected the decoder and after booting up when the "Decoder Rebooted " message appeared I pressed exit to skip the rescan and smartcard check. I had full decoder functionality and the XV worked perfectly as well. No BO titles or CU titles though, those took about 3 weeks to populate.

That is interesting. So the decoders will start up properly with odd conflicts on the SC provided the second rescan and SC check is avoided? Over time I presume the SC updates would then run normally. Now to try this. ( Must go away again for another few weeks! )

Makes sense to me. Re-inforces my conclusion that most if not all of these problems we experience are related to how the service authentication system works and updates itself.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15

Last edited by Geoff D; 2017-02-13 at 09:30. .
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2017-02-12 , 13:39
Sandtonman's Avatar
Sandtonman Sandtonman is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Morningside, Sandton or Ashford, Kent; seasonal
Posts: 4,384
Got back yesterday after a 6-week absence in the UK.

Did not see any of the reboots or strange errors that you experienced, Geoff.

Just the expected E19-4 error on all Explorae and all channels.

These errors cleared over time and channels returned in a manner that did not relate to package. i.e. Sports channels became enabled before the news channels, which returned much later. Finally PVR (trick mode) functionality returned this morning. XV partnership was not an issue.

So yes, I'm sure you are correct in your assertion that it's all about Authentication of the SC.

This is likely all a part of MC's ongoing fight against piracy and fraudulent activity by the crooks trying to illegally clone MC's technology and circumvent its security. So has to be lived with.

As also pointed out, there are now ways of clearing the error message by mobile phone or the web site. So only a minor inconvenience.

Cheers, K.
__________________
Lounge: Dual LNB feed, 24-1Z Switch, Explora-2, LG 49" S-UHD TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Pioneer HT Amp, Tannoy S8s x 5, 5 15" Tannoy Sub. Home Theatre PC, Chromecast
Bedroom: Unicable Feeds from lounge: 2 x Explora-1s, Sony V-Series TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Sony Blu-ray HT System, Slingbox Solo; Chromecast
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2017-02-13 , 09:32
Geoff D Geoff D is online now
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,413
Thanks Keith for the feedback. So you agree, full functionality takes hours to return after being off for an extended period of time?
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2017-02-13 , 10:32
Sandtonman's Avatar
Sandtonman Sandtonman is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Morningside, Sandton or Ashford, Kent; seasonal
Posts: 4,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
Thanks Keith for the feedback. So you agree, full functionality takes hours to return after being off for an extended period of time?
Yes; and as I said in my previous post, they return in an unanticipated sequence.

I see you reported elsewhere that you had overnight issues.
I noticed around 2:30 this morning that both secondary Explorae were disabled awaiting a heartbeat from the primary. My physical connections had not been disturbed.

I quickly checked the primary and it was working fine; but live TV had been paused before we went to bed and was still in pause.

I simply rebooted all 3 Explorae with a long press on their front panels and normal service resumed. All was normal this morning.

Strange though
Cheers, K.
__________________
Lounge: Dual LNB feed, 24-1Z Switch, Explora-2, LG 49" S-UHD TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Pioneer HT Amp, Tannoy S8s x 5, 5 15" Tannoy Sub. Home Theatre PC, Chromecast
Bedroom: Unicable Feeds from lounge: 2 x Explora-1s, Sony V-Series TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Sony Blu-ray HT System, Slingbox Solo; Chromecast

Last edited by Sandtonman; 2017-02-13 at 10:35. .
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 2017-02-13 , 10:36
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,357
Welcome back K

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandtonman View Post
Strange though
There were some irregular technical changes made overnight (discussed elsewhere) so probably related to that.
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Online Guide - poor service & poor response Optimist Customer service 2 2015-11-17 14:11
Poor Poor service ricklou Service Queries 3 2010-09-20 22:24
Poor service at local agent in Secunda normj55 Service Queries 2 2010-09-01 20:29
Poor service (lip-sync issue) Ermeric1 HD PVR 5 2010-06-01 16:22
Poor customer service nate Service Queries 1 2009-06-18 09:48