Forum > Decoders > Installation > Replacing an old single view with an Explora on an extraview setup.
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2014-09-16 , 13:54
scc1206 scc1206 is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 59
Default Replacing an old single view with an Explora on an extraview setup.

Hi All,

I have a HD PVR Pace (4 tuner) and a Single View decoder on an extraview setup, dual LNB.

I want to replace the Single View with an Explora but have heard that for this setup to work I will need to replace my dual LNB with a Quad LNB.

Is this correct ?

Steve.
__________________
Dual LNB, Explora Switch, Explora(primary), PACE HDPVR (secondary), HDMI, Samsung Series 6 3D TV, Remote Blaster.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2014-09-16 , 14:02
KennethM's Avatar
KennethM KennethM is offline
It was a dark and stormy night.
(But because his installation was sound, his DStv reception was perfect.)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sundowner
Posts: 2,536
That will be the best solution. You obviously already have a multi-switch to drive the 4 inputs of the 4P and cascading multi-switches is a possible source of problems. You would take 2 cables from the quad LNB to the existing MS and the other 2 to the MS supplied with the Explora
__________________
Explora, Explora 1 + Explora Nano Secondary, Explora Nano Third, Xtraview activated, Unicode LNB. 90cm Dish. Pace 4P x 4MS Dual LNB separate install
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2014-09-16 , 14:32
scc1206 scc1206 is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 59
So I guess it's not possible then to do away with my current multiswitch, replace it with the Explora multiswitch and connect the 2 LNB's to it with the outputs being 1 to the Explora and 4 to the HD PVR ?

Steve
__________________
Dual LNB, Explora Switch, Explora(primary), PACE HDPVR (secondary), HDMI, Samsung Series 6 3D TV, Remote Blaster.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2014-09-16 , 15:05
gwalker gwalker is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly.
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Gauteng
Posts: 7,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by scc1206 View Post
Hi All,

I have a HD PVR Pace (4 tuner) and a Single View decoder on an extraview setup, dual LNB.

I want to replace the Single View with an Explora but have heard that for this setup to work I will need to replace my dual LNB with a Quad LNB.

Is this correct ?

Steve.
In late 2015/early 2016 additional Satalite will be going up which will require a quad LNB, all new installations are therefore required to be installed with a quad LNB.

Currently you can use the dual LNB with your existing setup with use with the Explora.

G
__________________
Explora & UEC 2U in Xtraview. HDMI via Yamaha RX-V765 amp and Panel.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2014-09-16 , 15:14
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,392
Quote:
Originally Posted by scc1206 View Post
So I guess it's not possible then to do away with my current multiswitch, replace it with the Explora multiswitch and connect the 2 LNB's to it with the outputs being 1 to the Explora and 4 to the HD PVR ?

Steve
Right now, all you need to do is get the Explora, install the Explora switch, connect the existing Dual (Twin) LNB cables to the H/L and V/L ports and then connect the 4 tuner decoder to ports 1,2,3,4 on the switch. The Explora gets connected to port A on the Explora switch.

This eliminates the need for the existing MS.

After the new satellite is in place, you will need to change the LNB.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2014-09-16 , 17:16
scc1206 scc1206 is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 59
Thanks for the feedback guys, much appreciated.

Steve
__________________
Dual LNB, Explora Switch, Explora(primary), PACE HDPVR (secondary), HDMI, Samsung Series 6 3D TV, Remote Blaster.
Reply With Quote
Reply
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Explora + HD PVR 2P Extraview Setup arnom Explora HD PVR 19 2013-08-13 12:17
Single view to xtra view install wtobin Installation 5 2011-05-09 18:04
Single View to Dual View HDPVR Upgrade Kloon Installation 3 2011-05-06 11:12
Downgrading from SD Dual View PVR to Single View PVR spiff SD PVR 2 2010-10-19 12:40
single cable hdpvr and 11xx extraview stevieg08 Installation 13 2010-06-22 20:49