Forum > Decoders > PVR Decoders > EPG error or the new software
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-05-16 , 11:54
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 456
Default EPG error or the new software

We were away from home for 3 weeks Tuesday 18 April to Tuesday 8 May. The Explora 2A was left in standby mode and all the scheduled recordings bar 1 (Epg error) went off perfectly as one would expect. Some would say that it is a miracle. I say well done MC your software functioned as intended.

When the Explora 2A was switch out of standby upon returning home a banner flashed up regarding the software update(too quick to read) and the decoder promptly proceeded to download and install the software update which took around 21 minutes.

I think it is safe to conclude that that the successful recordings of the preceding 3 weeks were all done using the old software.

This morning when checking the scheduled recordings for the day I notice that the recording for Chicago Med show a recording conflict. None of my safety net settings or any other settings has been changed during the week.

Checking the EPG schedules for the period show

Chicago Fire 19:30-20:30
Chicago PD 20:30-21:29
Chicago Med 21:29-22:30
Broadchurch 22:30-23:30

Nothing that can cause a recording schedule conflict. The only change is that the decoder is now running on the new software. I cannot find any reason for the sudden recording conflict as my attached screen shots will show.

With the havoc caused by recording conflicts on the New Binge channel 900 over the weekend I am starting to doubt that it was caused by the EPG but rather lean towards the new software causing the issue. But then I am relatively new to using a Explora and I will leave it up to MC to sort out.

I have posted this in the PVR forum rather than the Broadcasting errors one because I can see no error in the EPG scheduling for the effected period.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Conflict.jpg (350.1 KB, 13 views)
File Type: jpg Confilct 2.jpg (642.9 KB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg Conflict 3.jpg (579.7 KB, 9 views)
File Type: jpg Conflict 4.jpg (463.5 KB, 9 views)
__________________
Explora 2 + Pace HD PVR P2 XV SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10

Last edited by Jan Horn; 2017-05-16 at 13:35. . Reason: corrected typo changed Broadschurch 22:39 to 22:30
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-05-16 , 12:20
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,392
Thanks Jan. A very useful post!

All recordings went off without a hitch on the old software, and now immediately after the sw update everything breaks. At least MC should now be on the right track as to where to look. But, at the same time, the issues with these constant EPG changes should also be addressed.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-05-16 , 13:11
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,136
@JanHorn - there is a conflict at 20:30 between Chicago Fire and OD and at 22:30. Remember that 1 minute on the 30 is an overlap and therefore causes the conflict.

This is what we discussed with M-Net last week - even just a 1 second overlap is seen as a conflict by the decoder software. They're supposed to do only to 29 minutes past the hour and then starting at 30 again.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-05-16 , 13:40
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 456
@Marietjie I don't see the overlap you mention. Also any overlap with Chicago Fire should not effect the recording of Chicago Med as I am not recording
Chicago Fire.
__________________
Explora 2 + Pace HD PVR P2 XV SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-05-16 , 13:53
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,136
If a show ends at 20:30 and the next one begins at 20:30, there is an overlap of one minute at 20:30.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-05-16 , 14:01
Krugie's Avatar
Krugie Krugie is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Moreleta Park, Pretoria
Posts: 3,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Marietjie View Post
They're supposed to do only to 29 minutes past the hour and then starting at 30 again.
I agree this will most likely solve the problem but ever since day 1 the Explora worked fined if one program ends 20H30 and the other starts 20:30 - this has never caused a conflict.

The biggest problem currently is that the EPG get changed to say a program starts 20:29 which then often causes a conflict on ANOTHER channel where a recording is only ending at 20H30. Or a recording is in progress from 20H30 to 21H30 on a channel and then the following program on the same channel has its starting time amended to 20:29 - causing a conflict on the SAME channel with back-to-back recordings.
__________________
Octo-LNB to 2 x 5.2 switches. Explora 1 (Primary) & HDPVR 2P (Secondary) in lounge, Samsung 55" UA55F8500 Smart 3D LED TV, HDMI picture and audio via Onkyo TX-NR626 receiver, Samsung BD-F7500 3D Blu-Ray player. Explora 1 in bedroom with HDMI picture & audio to Samsung 32" UA32F5500 Smart LED TV.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-05-16 , 14:04
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,392
@ Jan,

Have you checked the schedule list for an older setting, still there but no longer valid or used? Could just be that setting that is messing up the conflict resolution process.

We had the same issues with the older decoders, even with the SD PVR with TBRs. One had to allow for a "switching time" between settings, as the processors could not process the shutting down of the one recording and the start of the next.
It was solved by allowing the SD PVR to start a recording late instead of not starting the recording at all.

It could be now that the latest software has again raised a similar problem.

Only way out is a deliberate gap between settings (as suggested with the one ending at "29" and the next starting at "30"), or to allow a follow on recording to start late, generating a warning message, but not blocking the recording from happening.

Either way, these issues are arising because of the change in the sw and the EPG scheduling issues, (especially late changes).

The answer short term is NOT to rely on EPG settings and make use of MRs instead. In the case of the SD PVR, this went from a short term solution to a lifetime solution as nothing was ever done to address the issue.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15

Last edited by Geoff D; 2017-05-16 at 14:06. .
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-05-16 , 14:06
Krugie's Avatar
Krugie Krugie is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Moreleta Park, Pretoria
Posts: 3,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Marietjie View Post
If a show ends at 20:30 and the next one begins at 20:30, there is an overlap of one minute at 20:30.
This has never been the case - programs have always been scheduled like this. It is exactly these 1-minute changes that are causing conflicts - not resolving them.
__________________
Octo-LNB to 2 x 5.2 switches. Explora 1 (Primary) & HDPVR 2P (Secondary) in lounge, Samsung 55" UA55F8500 Smart 3D LED TV, HDMI picture and audio via Onkyo TX-NR626 receiver, Samsung BD-F7500 3D Blu-Ray player. Explora 1 in bedroom with HDMI picture & audio to Samsung 32" UA32F5500 Smart LED TV.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2017-05-16 , 14:07
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,136
@Krugie - this is about how it is scheduled in the background and what the software sees. Perhaps it is sufficient to say thank you for the input - the software teams are looking at this, and at the same time M-Net teams are ensuring their EPG changes are not contributing to the issue.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2017-05-16 , 14:10
Krugie's Avatar
Krugie Krugie is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Moreleta Park, Pretoria
Posts: 3,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Marietjie View Post
@Krugie - this is about how it is scheduled in the background and what the software sees. Perhaps it is sufficient to say thank you for the input - the software teams are looking at this, and at the same time M-Net teams are ensuring their EPG changes are not contributing to the issue.

Thanks MoM - I will leave it at that but my view remains that a new bug was recently introduced on the Explora and now changes to the EPG and scheduling is being introduced to compensate for the bug..... This was also reflected in another post where someone was away for 3 weeks and all his recordings worked until he got home and upgraded his software - after which he started experiencing these conflicts.
__________________
Octo-LNB to 2 x 5.2 switches. Explora 1 (Primary) & HDPVR 2P (Secondary) in lounge, Samsung 55" UA55F8500 Smart 3D LED TV, HDMI picture and audio via Onkyo TX-NR626 receiver, Samsung BD-F7500 3D Blu-Ray player. Explora 1 in bedroom with HDMI picture & audio to Samsung 32" UA32F5500 Smart LED TV.
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
There is Software and there is software Geoff D Satellite & TV Technology 0 2014-01-22 14:37
EPG bug with the Latest Software upgrade te_lanus SD PVR 4 2013-07-13 20:33
DSD 1110, new software, and new smartcard Terrence Standard decoder 0 2011-12-22 10:14
HD PVR 2P serious software error - cannot reset network settings tnmb HD PVR 14 2010-07-13 18:53
New Software.....New Problem!!! tony r HD PVR 35 2009-01-13 09:16