Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2013-08-19 , 10:50
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,258
Default REMOTE Identification

Hi all,

It is getting quite confusing trying to keep track of the remotes

I have attached pictures of the remotes I think are the A1, A2, A3 and A4 remotes

could someone please confirm I have them correct?

A1 to A4 left to Right
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15

Last edited by Geoff D; 2014-02-20 at 08:57. .
  #2  
Old 2013-08-19 , 11:10
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,851
A1 - No question.

A2 - Not what I have, will post a picture later. Don't know what this is, perhaps the original and mine is a clone? (second-hand), it has no MC or DStv markings I can see.

A3 - Have the clone so can't say, but I'm sure you will have that right too.

A4 - Looks correct, but there are 3 versions and mine is one of the others. I think the brown colouring is a sure sign. Mine also has an LED under both Info & Exit, and the Shift button is brown with black text.

Last edited by Optimist; 2013-08-19 at 11:27. . Reason: More about A2 & A4 added
  #3  
Old 2013-08-19 , 11:38
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,258
Pictures from the document released by MC in 2012.

Interesting when you take a pdf and extract the images what you see! Not always what is displayed in the document ...................
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
  #4  
Old 2013-08-19 , 11:53
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,851
Here's my "A2";
(Sorry for the unsteady-hands quality, in a rush)

EDIT: This was later determined to be a later release of the A3 believe it or not, what we're now refering to as the "A3 revision 2".


A2 (probable clone).jpg

Last edited by Optimist; 2014-05-31 at 09:57. . Reason: See EDIT
  #5  
Old 2013-08-22 , 23:22
WernerB's Avatar
WernerB WernerB is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Highveld, Centurion
Posts: 672
A1 & A2 in the image is like what I have

My A4 is however like Optimist's - the sams as in the image, but with LEDs under the i and Exit buttons, in the silver trim, with the Shift button also the brown/orange colour
__________________
Explora HD PVR & Pace 4T HD PVR in XtraView
90cm Dish with Twin LNB > DStv Multi Switch
Video: HDMI > TV | Audio: HDMI > TV
Aspect Ratio: 16:9 (4:3 Pillar Box)
Audio Output: Variable
Sony V Series TV with 4x HDMI Inputs
  #6  
Old 2013-08-23 , 08:56
RenierZA RenierZA is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 55
My A1, A2 and A3 remotes:

__________________
Primary: Explora | Secondary: UEC HD PVR 4T
  #7  
Old 2013-08-23 , 09:16
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,258
I think I have got the point across. we glibly talk about A1 etc without having any real easy an guaranteed way to identify the remotes bacause there is label on the remote to say it is A1, etc.

There are a number of versions of each of the A1, A2, A3, etc remotes and they do look different.

So thus, the current sticky published by MC while full of useful technical details, does not guarantee correct remote identfication.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15

Last edited by Geoff D; 2013-08-23 at 11:23. .
  #8  
Old 2013-08-23 , 11:18
KennethM's Avatar
KennethM KennethM is offline
It was a dark and stormy night.
(But because his installation was sound, his DStv reception was perfect.)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Sundowner
Posts: 2,520
You will get my A3 remote when you pry it from my cold dead hand.
__________________
Explora, Explora 1 + Explora Nano Secondary, Explora Nano Third, Xtraview activated, Unicode LNB. 90cm Dish. Pace 4P x 4MS Dual LNB separate install
  #9  
Old 2013-08-23 , 11:24
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,258
ja just like the SD PVR, the A3 remains in a league of its own, quality and functionality wise.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
  #10  
Old 2013-08-23 , 11:41
Eurica's Avatar
Eurica Eurica is offline
Forum Queen (gets her subjects to change her remote batteries daily.)
[Dear Twitter: Forum Queen is not a MultiChoice employee.]
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Loony Bin
Posts: 1,787
Quote:
Originally Posted by KennethM View Post
You will get my A3 remote when you pry it from my cold dead hand.
I can operate that remote without looking at it. My fingers knows exactly where to go.
__________________
I'm not crazy. My mother had me tested.
On Twitter @tv_skapie
Explora & Walka 7
 
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot teach HDPVR remote commands to a Yamaha amp learning remote chiqpc Remote Controls 6 2010-02-22 21:24
DSD1110 remote not working through my Ellies remote blaster!! Skillet Remote Controls 11 2009-09-23 10:38
Program old 660 'Cokw-Bottle' remote into SDPVR remote (2007) erikb Remote Controls 5 2009-09-09 08:09
Remote blaster reading double number inputs from remote Silverback Installation 4 2009-07-06 17:51
TV Identification Simon XtraView 0 2009-04-05 22:30