Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2010-10-21 , 11:16
garydu garydu is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 1
Question Front Panel not picking up remote

Disable the front panel of my SD PVR as it was part of an Xtraview system with a HD-PVR. Problem is that now that I try to enable it again, it doesn't pick up anything from any of the remotes I have. Please help, a wonderful decoder is going to waste
  #2  
Old 2010-10-21 , 14:18
JG's Avatar
JG JG is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,700
Hi and welcome to the forum.

When the HDPVR first launched and you wanted to use the HDPVR and SDPVR together, you had to disable the SDPVR's remote sensor by pressing P+ and P- together on the front panel. I assume doing it again will enable it again (?).

This was addressed in subsequent software releases, so this is no longer an issue.

Try/check the following:
- Try enabling the remote sensor again by pressing P+ & P- simultaneously on the SDPVR front panel
- Check that the SDPVR has the latest software on it (navigate via the front panel buttons)
- Make sure the remote is set to either 1A / 1B / 1C or 1D
- Check the remote setting (under Xtraview menu) on the SDPVR. If it is set to respond to the SDPVR remote only, the HDPVR remote won't work on it.

Report back and we'll take it from there.

Worst case scenario, you can install a TV link behind it and control it from that (if there is a hardware problem with the SDPVR).
  #3  
Old 2010-10-21 , 14:23
gwalker gwalker is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly.
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Gauteng
Posts: 7,461
Quote:
Originally Posted by JGpta View Post
Hi and welcome to the forum.

When the HDPVR first launched and you wanted to use the HDPVR and SDPVR together, you had to disable the SDPVR's remote sensor by pressing P+ and P- together on the front panel. I assume doing it again will enable it again (?).

This was addressed in subsequent software releases, so this is no longer an issue.

Try/check the following:
- Try enabling the remote sensor again by pressing P+ & P- simultaneously on the SDPVR front panel
- Check that the SDPVR has the latest software on it (navigate via the front panel buttons)
- Make sure the remote is set to either 1A / 1B / 1C or 1D
- Check the remote setting (under Xtraview menu) on the SDPVR. If it is set to respond to the SDPVR remote only, the HDPVR remote won't work on it.

Report back and we'll take it from there.

Worst case scenario, you can install a TV link behind it and control it from that (if there is a hardware problem with the SDPVR).
A factory default may also work.
__________________
Explora & UEC 2U in Xtraview. HDMI via Yamaha RX-V765 amp and Panel.
  #4  
Old 2010-10-21 , 16:22
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,477
Always thought that was a crazy work around and I never implemented it - instead I taped up the sensor until one was able to set the SD decoder to detect "sd remotes only"

Last edited by Geoff D; 2010-10-22 at 08:03. .
  #5  
Old 2010-10-21 , 16:41
Barendb's Avatar
Barendb Barendb is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Pretoria, Doornpoort
Posts: 1,017
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
Always thought that was a crzy worrk around and I never implemented it - instead I taped up the sensor until one was able to set the SD decoder to detec "sd remotes only"
If I remember correctly if you disabled it. Sometime or other it would be enabled again.
I think with a software upgrade or a reboot.
__________________
4B - Dual LNB - 2x6 MS - HD-PVR[Out] - SD-PVR[Out] (XV Activated)
RF Dist: T-PIECE- SLX(4) Splitter, 3 x TVLINKS: LCD Plasma, LG LCD connected via HDMI Splitter
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another UEC Bug: Remote and Front Panel Failure Patrick No 1 HD PVR 3 2010-04-26 14:30
Remote reboot vs Front Panel Reset gwalker HD PVR 12 2010-02-03 00:17
Front panel MC Brenda Installation 27 2009-11-23 19:58
Front Panel - feedback please MC Brenda HD PVR 0 2009-11-20 11:36
Front Panel (Again) Simon HD PVR 2 2009-01-27 08:32