Forum > Decoders > PVR Decoders > Remote recording to secondary PVR
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2018-01-01 , 21:07
Tess Tess is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 22
Default Remote recording to secondary PVR

Is it possible to set up a recording remotely to a Secondary PVR and not the primary. We have an Explora (his) and a new Explora 2 (hers) on XtraView. Each decoder has its own WiFi connector and both seem to work perfectly. My hubby & I have completely different tastes in viewing!

Second query is, can I set up a Series recording remotely or only a single episode? I sometimes remember a new series at work during lunchtime and would prefer to set it to record the series to MY decoder!! Thanks for any advice!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2018-01-02 , 07:16
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB
Posts: 14,700
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tess View Post
Is it possible to set up a recording remotely to a Secondary PVR and not the primary. We have an Explora (his) and a new Explora 2 (hers) on XtraView. Each decoder has its own WiFi connector and both seem to work perfectly. My hubby & I have completely different tastes in viewing!
No problem, see http://forum.dstv.com/showthread.php?t=35898
Look especially at @Sandtonman's answers.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tess View Post
Second query is, can I set up a Series recording remotely or only a single episode? I sometimes remember a new series at work during lunchtime and would prefer to set it to record the series to MY decoder!! Thanks for any advice!
Haven't tried this, but if it insists on recording a single episode only as I suspect then you could always alter that when getting home.
Maybe others will have more to offer about this later.

Last edited by Optimist; 2018-01-02 at 07:47. . Reason: Misunderstood second query
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2018-01-02 , 09:12
Tess Tess is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 22
Thanks very much for pointing me in the right direction. I will try that out. The query about setting a whole Series remotely is more for curiosity!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2018-01-02 , 10:07
Tess Tess is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 22
Report back: - Unfortunately it's definitely only allowing me to record remotely to the Primary. I've checked that remote recording is enabled on the Explora 2 (secondary). I can download to it but when trying to record remotely from DSTV Now it does not bring up the option to make a choice as to which decoder to record to. Both Explora's are showing as linked on the website.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2018-01-02 , 10:17
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB
Posts: 14,700
Ok, suggest you phone the Call Centre and ask for a DStv Now specialist.
But check back here for anything from others, and your feedback about how it's tackled would be appreciated.
I can't help further.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2018-01-02 , 11:02
Tess Tess is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 22
Update: - I phoned the Call Centre, got through immediately and the Consultant did something to further link the smart cards while I waited. Strange that it needed human intervention but it was very painless, speedy and efficient! Its working now so I am very happy.
Reply With Quote
Reply
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2x HDPVR 2P connecting to view recording on secondary HDPVR2P HowardB XtraView 3 2012-12-28 14:00
Secondary Decoder cannot be remote controlled through the TV Link blackguyza XtraView 1 2012-07-26 08:13
Signal not found on HD PVR XtraView Secondary Gerson Service Queries 4 2011-11-26 05:21
Exclamation mark notice top-right on HD PVR (secondary decoder) NetPret HD PVR 2 2010-10-05 19:53
Secondary HD-PVR reboots every 40 mins nugpot XtraView 10 2008-12-25 11:28