Forum > Decoders > PVR Decoders > HD 2P PVR Rebooting
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-11-27 , 14:17
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is online now
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 534
Default HD 2P PVR Rebooting

I am starting a new thread regarding the old rebooting problem.

The decoder seem to be more stable now but I am not sure if it is a result of the changes made to the weather and news app or just because it is now the secondary decoder on the XV setup.

Because the Explora which I switched to after becoming fed-up with the 2P rebooting problem the usage of the 2P has been reduced by about 90% being a house hold of 2 only.

What is noticeable is that the 2P still reboots after the news app has bee used a few times. Also as noted elsewhere by BB there are some unexplained reboots and some of these coincide with the reboot times experienced by the SD decoder users.

What I have also noticed during the weekend is that there is only 6 CU titles on my decoder. See my screenshot. Since then Carte Blanch has been added.

The decoder has not been switched off neither has any settings been changed.
__________________
Explora 2A + Pace HD PVR 2P XV LMX 501 SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-11-27 , 14:20
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is online now
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 534
Apologies forgot to load the screen shot
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2P CU.jpg (313.6 KB, 15 views)
__________________
Explora 2A + Pace HD PVR 2P XV LMX 501 SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-11-27 , 14:41
Krugie's Avatar
Krugie Krugie is online now
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Moreleta Park, Pretoria
Posts: 4,013
I have not noticed any reboots on my 2P but hardly ever use it nowadays - and I don't use the app at all but I also have only the same 7 titles on CatchUp (and 17 port titles) - there is clearly a problem delivering to the 2P.

My 2P has 14 titles on Box Office.
__________________
Octo-LNB to 2 x 5.2 switches. Explora 1 (Primary) & HDPVR 2P (Secondary) in lounge, Samsung 55" UA55F8500 Smart 3D LED TV, HDMI picture and audio via Onkyo TX-NR626 receiver, Samsung BD-F7500 3D Blu-Ray player. Explora 1 in bedroom with HDMI picture & audio to Samsung 32" UA32F5500 Smart LED TV.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-11-27 , 16:18
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is online now
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 534
Thanks for confirming the CU problem Krugie.

We also hardly use the HD 2P. But having said that I did make a point of using the News app at least once a day for a few weeks just to satisfy myself that the problem was solved.

Before I use the app I have a look on the "Information Central" screen to see when the decoder last rebooted. Currently the last reboot reflected is 25 November at 08:08.

Since then I have used the news app 3 times. on 25,26 and today. On 25 November I used the news app at around 07:00

00 but the reboot about an hour later may have been unrelated, I cannot say it was caused by using the app.
__________________
Explora 2A + Pace HD PVR 2P XV LMX 501 SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10

Last edited by Jan Horn; 2017-11-27 at 20:42. .
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-11-27 , 17:54
beetle bailey's Avatar
beetle bailey beetle bailey is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brackenfell, Western Cape
Posts: 4,992
I use my 2P decoder fairly intensively every day. Either watching recorded programes or live. (My Explora is the Primary Decoder while the 2P is the Secondary one). I am still avoiding using the weather/news/sports apps on this decoder.

14 Titles on Box Office(which I never use)
7 Titles on Catch Up What happened to all the other titles which were there?

Last Reboot was on 25/11 at 00:21

Jan, I would hazard a guess that your reboots are still being caused by the apps. I too have been taking the occasional look at when reboots happen but haven't been keeping a record of them. Although they do still occur they are not as frequent, I don't think, as I was once experiencing. Maybe one every couple of days. Remember my decoder is on basically from morning to night. Even when I'm not in the room I leave everything running. Decoder and tv.
__________________
Explora (Primary) and 2P HD Decoder (Secondary); Twin LNB; Samsung HT-J5550 Home Theatre System, Sony KLV-32S400A tv and Sony KLV-22Bx320 tv.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-11-27 , 21:38
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is online now
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 534
@ MC is there any reason why we only have 7 titles on CU on the HD PVR 2Pdecoders?
__________________
Explora 2A + Pace HD PVR 2P XV LMX 501 SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-11-28 , 09:49
beetle bailey's Avatar
beetle bailey beetle bailey is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brackenfell, Western Cape
Posts: 4,992
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jan Horn View Post
@ MC is there any reason why we only have 7 titles on CU on the HD PVR 2Pdecoders?
Just did another check on the number of catch up titles available to me on my 2P decoder and there has been no change to yesterday's totals. Still SEVEN!!!. But no further reboot has taken place since the one mentioned in my earlier post.
__________________
Explora (Primary) and 2P HD Decoder (Secondary); Twin LNB; Samsung HT-J5550 Home Theatre System, Sony KLV-32S400A tv and Sony KLV-22Bx320 tv.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-11-28 , 11:01
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is online now
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 534
The loos of CU titles is not a big issue with us because our main viewing is the Explora primary decoder. But my daughter uses CU as her main source of viewing and this is causing an issue for them.

Is this now also the end of the line for the HD PVR 2P or will MC sort this out.

None of the Mods sofar cared to respond
__________________
Explora 2A + Pace HD PVR 2P XV LMX 501 SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2017-11-28 , 11:34
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,286
Folks I have asked MC Sandipa to pls respond to this thread or at least get the technical guys to look into it. No doubt she will post here soon.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2017-11-28 , 12:08
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jan Horn View Post
The loos of CU titles is not a big issue with us because our main viewing is the Explora primary decoder. But my daughter uses CU as her main source of viewing and this is causing an issue for them.

Is this now also the end of the line for the HD PVR 2P or will MC sort this out.

None of the Mods sofar cared to respond
@ Jan,

A simple test you may wish to carry out when next at your daughters place.

I presume she is using a TWIN Universal LNB?
If so put two T pieces in series with the LNB ports. Monitor the voltage on the two ports by simply inserting a short piece of coax into the port and measuring the voltage with a multimeter set at 20V DC.

Change channels and see what happens on both lines. Especially when switching between HOR and VER channels .

Let me know what you see.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15

Last edited by Geoff D; 2017-11-28 at 14:08. .
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD PVR Random Rebooting marcr HD PVR 15 2012-01-10 09:20
Pace HD PVR continually rebooting Cesarae HD PVR 18 2010-06-28 11:37
UEC HD PVR randomly rebooting nicksteroonie HD PVR 10 2010-06-02 22:56
HD PVR Rebooting markv XtraView 2 2010-02-03 12:41
SD Pvr rebooting problem ainsco SD PVR 6 2009-05-11 14:58