Forum > Decoders > Standard Decoders > Missing channels: likely cause?
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-11-27 , 03:36
Terrence's Avatar
Terrence Terrence is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NW Johannesburg
Posts: 458
Default Missing channels: likely cause?

In the wake of the storms in Randburg on Friday and Saturday, we seem to have a serious problem with a small group of channels, notably 117 (Universal Channel), 119 (BBC First), and 123 (ITV Choice). On Sunday night, as of about 22h00, we were getting a very disrupted signal; by midnight, there seemed to be nothing. Reboots and rescans did nothing to help, and sometimes resulted in these channels being missing from the programme grid and unlocatable altogether. All other channels seem to be functioning normally.

My question to the collective wisdom of the forum: is this sort of thing most likely to be a decoder issue, or LNB / cable?

Once before, when we had a similar problem on an SD decoder, that turned out to be a damaged LNB; however, on that occasion it was a wider set of channels, all of which had the same polarization, whereas now there is no obvious common characteristice that I can find among the reachable and the unreachable channels respectively.
__________________
DStv Premium; DSD 4U (4136)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-11-27 , 07:56
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,667
Wait a few hours today before doing anything. I also have missing channels ... Including those you show plus etvHd
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, PACE 4T HD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(3) PSU's, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1.
Spare switches and LNBs: 1 x 5-1(repaired); 1 x 5-2.Numerous so called faulty LNBs that were easily repaired.
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2 x (2x6) MS, FSM permanently connected.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-11-27 , 10:37
Sandtonman's Avatar
Sandtonman Sandtonman is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Morningside, Sandton or Ashford, Kent; seasonal
Posts: 4,459
Just checked and NO issues on these channels -- 117 (Universal Channel), 119 (BBC First), and 123 (ITV Choice) Explora 1 and 2.

Try a power off (cold) reboot AFTER doing the re-scan. I've found that necessary on occasions recently.

Cheers, K.
__________________
Lounge: Dual LNB feed, 24-1Z Switch, Explora-2, LG 49" S-UHD TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Pioneer HT Amp, Tannoy S8s x 5, 5 15" Tannoy Sub. Home Theatre PC, Chromecast
Bedroom: Unicable Feeds from lounge: 2 x Explora-1s, LG 42" HD TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Sony Blu-ray HT System, Slingbox Solo; Chromecast

Last edited by Sandtonman; 2017-11-27 at 10:39. . Reason: rescan note
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-11-27 , 10:53
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,667
Tried that, made no difference. I think etvHD is missing on the HD PVRs because of some or other change on transponder 11848. Supposed to be Hi band.

I think what happened is MC once again for the umpteenth time caused some of our decoders to default settings ----

Ch 195 HD is on 11848 V

117 11050 V HD and 11090 H SD
119 11050 V HD and 10970 H SD
123 11050 V HD and 11090 H SD

Only 3 transponders involved! HAS to have been caused by MC at the head end!

The reboot should sort out the newer decoders. Older decoders require a verification of all settings.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, PACE 4T HD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(3) PSU's, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1.
Spare switches and LNBs: 1 x 5-1(repaired); 1 x 5-2.Numerous so called faulty LNBs that were easily repaired.
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2 x (2x6) MS, FSM permanently connected.

Last edited by Geoff D; 2017-11-27 at 12:02. .
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-11-27 , 11:16
Terrence's Avatar
Terrence Terrence is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NW Johannesburg
Posts: 458
Thanks for the replies and the advice, which might be useful in future. (We have the current single view HD decoder, so new[ish].)

As of about 11h00, all the problem channels appear to have returned (and 195 seems fine too).

Our case might have been partly an LNB issue caused by the recent rain; though not in the usual sense: going out in daylight revealed that a particular shrub had put up at least one stalk that might have been interfering. (Though if this was the cause, I am not sure why I was only seeing problems on so limited a set of channels.)

PS. I should add that I do not know when the issue appeared for us: we hadn't used any of the affected channels at all between about 01h00 on Saturday morning (or whenever the Casualty repeat ended), and when I noticed the severe disruption late on Sunday. We had seen similar disruption during the initial airing of Casualty from around 18h00 on Friday; however, that was not directly related: at the time, there was a particularly heavy rainstorm, and normal service resumed later on Friday evening.
__________________
DStv Premium; DSD 4U (4136)

Last edited by Terrence; 2017-11-27 at 11:21. .
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-11-27 , 11:25
Terrence's Avatar
Terrence Terrence is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NW Johannesburg
Posts: 458
BTW, Sandtonman, is that one of the Denge acoustic mirrors in your profile pic?
__________________
DStv Premium; DSD 4U (4136)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-11-27 , 11:58
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,667
Just to follow up.

My wife was watching something so I could not check my UEC decoder to see what was going on.

I have now done so and that IS what happened. The decoder was reset to defaults, which means Universal LNB, controlled with a Hi-band Lo of 10600. There is no switching frequency setting on the UEC decoder.

So to get the decoder to receive the "hi-band" transponders as if they are "Lo-band", MY settings have to be Standard LNB, controlled, and in any case, for Universal to try and work the Lo has to be 10700.

So Clearly some or other command was sent that caused the decoder to go back to defaults.

Channel 195 returned immediately after a rescan.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, PACE 4T HD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(3) PSU's, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1.
Spare switches and LNBs: 1 x 5-1(repaired); 1 x 5-2.Numerous so called faulty LNBs that were easily repaired.
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2 x (2x6) MS, FSM permanently connected.

Last edited by Geoff D; 2017-11-27 at 12:50. .
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-11-27 , 12:11
Sandtonman's Avatar
Sandtonman Sandtonman is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Morningside, Sandton or Ashford, Kent; seasonal
Posts: 4,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terrence View Post
BTW, Sandtonman, is that one of the Denge acoustic mirrors in your profile pic?
OFF TOPIC - NO APOLOGIES

Hi Terrence, yes it is. We were extremely fortunate to be able to attend one of the infrequent open days back in 2015; take a look.....

https://goo.gl/photos/TgyYYounLDp6hD9Z6

There are others Kentish sound Mirrors at Hythe and at Dover (Fan Bay) and elsewhere; but nowhere in the world such a complete set and in such great condition (apart from some graffiti )

Here is some good info for anyone who is interested. https://goo.gl/yxF3jF

Cheers, K.
__________________
Lounge: Dual LNB feed, 24-1Z Switch, Explora-2, LG 49" S-UHD TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Pioneer HT Amp, Tannoy S8s x 5, 5 15" Tannoy Sub. Home Theatre PC, Chromecast
Bedroom: Unicable Feeds from lounge: 2 x Explora-1s, LG 42" HD TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Sony Blu-ray HT System, Slingbox Solo; Chromecast

Last edited by Sandtonman; 2017-11-27 at 12:39. .
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2017-11-27 , 12:49
Terrence's Avatar
Terrence Terrence is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NW Johannesburg
Posts: 458
@Geoff D: Thanks for the further information. Would that have affected our DSD 4u (4136) too? Ours is set to "Universal", but as I understand it, that's correct for our setup.

@Sandtonman: Thanks for the wonderful photographs.
__________________
DStv Premium; DSD 4U (4136)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2017-11-27 , 12:54
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,667
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terrence View Post
@Geoff D: Thanks for the further information. Would that have affected our DSD 4u (4136) too? Ours is set to "Universal", but as I understand it, that's correct for our setup.

@Sandtonman: Thanks for the wonderful photographs.
Presume you have a single LNB? Then the setting is correct being Universal, Controlled.

The Lo setting depends on which LNB you have. If quite new, it is probably correct if 10600, if a good few years old, then the setting would have to be 10 700. There is a label on the LNB that will reflect the correct values.

The HD decoder (4136) has a setting for the switching frequency, which is supposed to be 11880.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, PACE 4T HD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(3) PSU's, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1.
Spare switches and LNBs: 1 x 5-1(repaired); 1 x 5-2.Numerous so called faulty LNBs that were easily repaired.
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2 x (2x6) MS, FSM permanently connected.
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Football Today - Naming will possibly cause recording issues RyanDavid Sport 0 2017-08-16 10:37
Sharp Shooter Can the appalling camera work cause seizures? Deon.G DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 1 2010-11-13 07:59
Formula 1 in HD - 2011 likely.... WernerB DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 5 2010-10-01 08:59
Cause of picture quality problems henryr@lantic.net Installation 2 2010-02-12 10:34
Meteorite on collision cause with Intelsat 7/10 citm Service Queries 10 2009-11-24 20:18