Forum > Decoders > PVR Decoders > Dolby Digital via HDMI
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2016-04-02 , 18:50
NoFear's Avatar
NoFear NoFear is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 15
Default Dolby Digital via HDMI

Has anybody tested the Dolby Digital soundtrack from the 4U & 2U PVR via HDMI? Scenario: Both decoders connected via HDMI to a Dolby capable Samsung or LG TV. The Audio is then passed thru from TV to Sony Dolby Amp via optical cable.
I am able to test scenario with media player which routes audio appropriately and Dolby works but not with PVRs. Any ideas or comments?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2016-04-02 , 21:19
Terminator Terminator is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 671
The optical must go to the amp. Hdmi to the TV from the decoder or if the amp has hdmi in and out, then to the amp, then to the TV. No dolby via TV
__________________
Explora - Primary
Pace 4 Tuner - Secondary
Samsung UHD TV
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2016-04-02 , 23:53
NoFear's Avatar
NoFear NoFear is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 15
Tv supports dolby and dolby pass thru.optical from tv connected to amp.ps3 connected to hdmi3 of tv.tv routes dolby from ps3 to amp and it works fine.just the 4U and 2U dont output dolby via hdmi.pvr surround settings set to auto.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2016-04-04 , 07:14
Terminator Terminator is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 671
What is the tv make and model?
__________________
Explora - Primary
Pace 4 Tuner - Secondary
Samsung UHD TV
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2016-04-04 , 09:21
MC Mpho's Avatar
MC Mpho MC Mpho is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Posts: 245
Hi NoFear,

The Infield Support team are investigating this decoder issue with a setup. Please forward me your contact details and they will contact you.
My email is mpho.mogopodi@multichoice.co.za

Regards,
MCMpho
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2016-04-04 , 09:40
chrisvdh's Avatar
chrisvdh chrisvdh is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Henley on Klip
Posts: 890
My Samsung would not do Dolby HDMI pass-through (using optical from TV back to amp). Confirmed that with Samsung techs.
Ended up tossing the Sony amp and buying a Denon with all the HDMI switching.
__________________
90cm dish and LMX502
Explora 1 (Pri), HD-PVR2 (Sec), XV heartbeat via RF outs
Samsung 65 UHD via HDMI, Samsung 40 SHD via HDMI
Denon AVR-X1400H (5.1 / 2 zones)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2016-04-04 , 11:18
Sandtonman's Avatar
Sandtonman Sandtonman is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Morningside, Sandton or Ashford, Kent; seasonal
Posts: 4,409
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terminator View Post
The optical must go to the amp. HDMI to the TV from the decoder or if the amp has HDMI in and out, then to the amp, then to the TV. No Dolby via TV
I've experimented a lot with this challenge and with different decoders over time; both here and in the UK.

I route the Audio (from my Explora) both from an optical cable to my Pioneer amp, also from an LG TV's optical out to the Pioneer Amp. Said TV receiving an HDMI feed from the Explora. Both audio signal paths give me full 5.1 Dolby with no issues.
(For the record My Humax Foxsat Freesat PVR in the UK also gives me 5.1 with optical out on an LG TV)

Most recent TVs however ONLY pass on Dolby 2.0 via the optical out.

Regret cannot pass comment on the decoders you are using, Nofear.

Cheers, K.
__________________
Lounge: Dual LNB feed, 24-1Z Switch, Explora-2, LG 49" S-UHD TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Pioneer HT Amp, Tannoy S8s x 5, 5 15" Tannoy Sub. Home Theatre PC, Chromecast
Bedroom: Unicable Feeds from lounge: 2 x Explora-1s, Sony V-Series TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Sony Blu-ray HT System, Slingbox Solo; Chromecast
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2016-04-04 , 19:23
NoFear's Avatar
NoFear NoFear is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Terminator View Post
What is the tv make and model?
Samsung UA 40ES5600
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2016-04-04 , 19:28
NoFear's Avatar
NoFear NoFear is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisvdh View Post
My Samsung would not do Dolby HDMI pass-through (using optical from TV back to amp). Confirmed that with Samsung techs.
Ended up tossing the Sony amp and buying a Denon with all the HDMI switching.
Earlier samsungs did not pass thru.I have smart tv version and i verified the passthru using a ps3 whilst playing a dvd with dolby 5.1.also note that some tvs require u to go into menu whilst dolby soundtrack is being played out and the spdif output of tv then makes the option in menu available.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2016-04-04 , 19:34
NoFear's Avatar
NoFear NoFear is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandtonman View Post
I've experimented a lot with this challenge and with different decoders over time; both here and in the UK.

I route the Audio (from my Explora) both from an optical cable to my Pioneer amp, also from an LG TV's optical out to the Pioneer Amp. Said TV receiving an HDMI feed from the Explora. Both audio signal paths give me full 5.1 Dolby with no issues.
(For the record My Humax Foxsat Freesat PVR in the UK also gives me 5.1 with optical out on an LG TV)

Most recent TVs however ONLY pass on Dolby 2.0 via the optical out.

Regret cannot pass comment on the decoders you are using, Nofear.

Cheers, K.
The reason going this route avoids the need to constantly change inputs on amp and also makes anything on screen available on amp. Comes in handy when u have multiple sources like 2 pvrs...ovhd...ps3...boxee...logitech googletv...its difficult enough to find tvs and amps with enough hdmi inputs or optical inputs. I even use boxee and another mediaplayer via an hdmi switch to the tv and the dolby digital is still routed from tv to amp.
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dolby Digital over HDMI Hubert Explora HD PVR 25 2013-08-21 19:20
Dolby Digital trailer (finally) in Dolby Digital JG Picture/Audio Quality 2 2011-06-22 10:08
5.1 Dolby via HDMI on UEC decoder J Gundlach HD PVR 1 2011-02-03 07:55
Still no dolby via HDMI? MC Brenda HD PVR 35 2009-12-04 22:24
5.1 dolby digital sound Rush929 HD PVR 6 2008-11-25 18:30