Forum > Decoders > PVR Decoders > About the SD PVR
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2017-11-21 , 16:05
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,667
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke7777 View Post
Now waiting for the 'Retirement of the Pace 4P' thread
I will start a new thread for the UEC 4 tuner later today.

It seems just too co incidental that now that MC have sorted out the SD PVR the UEC now starts rebooting as regular as clockwork.
2 days in a row at 19:00 and today at about 10:00 this morning.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, PACE 4T HD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(3) PSU's, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1.
Spare switches and LNBs: 1 x 5-1(repaired); 1 x 5-2.Numerous so called faulty LNBs that were easily repaired.
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2 x (2x6) MS, FSM permanently connected.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2017-11-21 , 16:32
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is online now
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 566
And of course complete coincidence that the HD 2P completely froze at 09:53 and had to be rebooted via the front panel to get going again
__________________
Explora 2A + Pace HD PVR 2P XV LMX 501 SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2017-11-21 , 16:59
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB
Posts: 15,596
Coincidence, no, another reason for this, maybe... besides the messing with E32 a few days back I've also since seen what may be Hi Band adjustments. Not going to go into details due to the uncertainty, but whatever is going on it's affecting different decoders.
What could help for those with quad or quatro LNBs feeding Explora Switches (ES) - for now try disconnecting your "V/H" input on the ES.

Warning - could affect some channels depending on your setup, and be aware it's theory only and not a long term solution for any problems.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2017-11-22 , 09:41
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB
Posts: 15,596
Another odd observation, in case it can offer any clues for those looking into all of this;

This morning I was looking through a long "test" SD PVR recording made overnight, during which there were a number of reboots.
Before I stopped the recording I calculated and noted down some of the reboot times involved.

After stopping the recording, these reboot failure marks on the Status Bar had somehow shifted - they were now much shorter, fewer, and in the wrong places. When I tried to view content over their involved period there were no interruptions.

After the next reboot (not one of my choice ) the failure marks were back to normal.


I don't plan to post more about any of this subject.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2017-12-06 , 09:50
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,667
See this thread for some final words on the SD PVR from my side.

The topic is now well and truly covered with absolutely no point in continuing the debate.

http://forum.dstv.com/showthread.php?t=37245
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, PACE 4T HD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(3) PSU's, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1.
Spare switches and LNBs: 1 x 5-1(repaired); 1 x 5-2.Numerous so called faulty LNBs that were easily repaired.
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2 x (2x6) MS, FSM permanently connected.
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off