Forum > Decoders > Installation > Signal Strength
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-11-27 , 13:23
AndrewD AndrewD is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Johannesburg
Posts: 384
Default Signal Strength

So I installed a new dish this weekend and found something quite weird. I have two Explorer 1 PVR's connected via Extraview with an SLNB.
First off the quality of the signal on both PVR's is 100% so there's no issues there.
The weird part comes when comparing the signal strength on the two PVR's. One is around 80% (primary) while the other (secondary)is around 68%. Surely connected to exactly the same dish and SLNB the two strength readings should be exactly the same ??
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-11-27 , 13:42
Luke7777's Avatar
Luke7777 Luke7777 is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Menlo Park Pretoria
Posts: 1,551
Maybe cabling on the 2nd one ?
__________________
Quad LNB Explora switch 5.1
Explora (Primary) Pace 4Tuner HDPVR (Secondary)
Xtraview - decoders same room - 3 distributed HDMI endpoints via 2x4 Matrix and Cat6
100/50 Fibre (OpenServe/AH Capped)
------------------------------------------
DSD1110 in holiday mode
DSTV Mobile via Drifta WiFi (S5& iPad)
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-11-27 , 13:55
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is online now
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 535
It could be that you were looking at two different polarization channels. One vertical and the other horizontal.
__________________
Explora 2A + Pace HD PVR 2P XV LMX 501 SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-11-27 , 14:06
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB
Posts: 14,737
Signals also vary from channel to channel and for a number of reasons, so ensure both decoders are on the same channel to make certain you're comparing apples to apples.

Also it's good enough to normally just look at the results for tuner 1. (BTW, tuner 2 can even be confusing in how it works.)
We recommend checking these two channels which should always give the better results - chs. 262 and 405.

--------

(A bit off topic, for regular readers - awful ch. 405 will need to be replaced sometime for obvious reasons , and much later a couple of "true" Hi Band chs. will need to be added.)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-11-27 , 15:05
Luke7777's Avatar
Luke7777 Luke7777 is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Menlo Park Pretoria
Posts: 1,551
I was assuming same channel being viewed on both decoders.....
__________________
Quad LNB Explora switch 5.1
Explora (Primary) Pace 4Tuner HDPVR (Secondary)
Xtraview - decoders same room - 3 distributed HDMI endpoints via 2x4 Matrix and Cat6
100/50 Fibre (OpenServe/AH Capped)
------------------------------------------
DSD1110 in holiday mode
DSTV Mobile via Drifta WiFi (S5& iPad)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-11-27 , 15:54
AndrewD AndrewD is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Johannesburg
Posts: 384
Thanks for the replies:
1. Cabling was all replaced. Great care was taken not to damage the cabling and the cable lengths are the same.
2. The polarization makes no difference. The strength is basically the same regardless of whether it is vertical or horizontal polarization (difference of a couple of percent at the most)
3. Did the test on the same channels and got the same results.

Only thing I was wondering was whether the Extraview "stole" some signal strength from the secondary decoder ??
Anyway the strength is good enough for 100% quality so I'm going to leave well enough alone !!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-11-27 , 16:00
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB
Posts: 14,737
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewD View Post
Only thing I was wondering was whether the Extraview "stole" some signal strength from the secondary decoder ??
No, each port will have enough signal of its own for its decoder.

The other possibility is that the two decoders just give different readings - less of a noticed issue with modern decoders, but that has always been a factor.

Agree with your conclusion, all is fine and don't worry about it
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-11-27 , 16:47
AndrewD AndrewD is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Johannesburg
Posts: 384
One day when Iím REALLY bored Iíll swop the two cables around and see if itís a decoder issue ...
Reply With Quote
Reply
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strength of signal vs. quality of signal ItsJustJack Installation 6 2013-01-21 15:52
Signal Strength v Signal Quality Nealsch Installation 4 2011-01-12 15:27
Signal Strength v Signal Quality Geoff D Picture/Audio Quality 5 2011-01-11 14:23
Signal Strength vs Signal Quality AndrewD Installation 6 2010-03-17 13:49
Signal Strength vs Signal Quality AndrewD Installation 5 2009-01-21 15:45