Forum > Decoders > Remotes > Remote blasters stopped working
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-05-20 , 11:57
Bullet007 Bullet007 is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 8
Default Remote blasters stopped working

Hi Guys
I would like to know if anything has changed on the SD PVR-I recently as my Ellies remote blasters (USB) have stopped working on the PVR-I only. I have an extrav-view (Explorer + PVR-I) and the Explorer still changes channels fine. I have tested the remotes in the lounge at the decoder and the channels change but not in the bedroom.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-07-25 , 14:03
Cassady Cassady is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 23
Also wondering. Have a Beyond Platinum B4 spare remote, that's no longer working. Any clarity on this?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-07-27 , 09:59
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,391
Step one. Try the remotes at the decoder first to determine if the remotes are working. The problem is probably the remote itself and not the blaster.

Remotes can be sorted out in two ways--- check the battery condition and replacer if needed.

Secondly, open up the remote and clean the keypad and the contacts on the circuit board itself with surgical alcohol and a few earbuds.

Watch out that you do not lose any of the small parts in the process!
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-07-27 , 10:02
Cassady Cassady is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
Step one. Try the remotes at the decoder first to determine if the remotes are working. The problem is probably the remote itself and not the blaster.

Remotes can be sorted out in two ways--- check the battery condition and replacer if needed.

Secondly, open up the remote and clean the keypad and the contacts on the circuit board itself with surgical alcohol and a few earbuds.

Watch out that you do not lose any of the small parts in the process!
Thanks Geoff - managed to bypass the whole 'issue' by finding the spare DSTV remote that one of the young-one's had placed in a spot that only a young-one would think was normal! We had accepted its fate as being lost - and through an absolute stroke of good fortune, found it about 25 minutes after popping up my post! Happily, all working now as it should!
Reply With Quote
Reply
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Remote in other room stopped working chrisc Remotes 14 2015-12-02 09:38
1131 software upgrade, old remotes and remote blasters Fiona McInnes Remote Controls 2 2011-12-13 16:54
UEC HD PVR: remote blasters do not work after upgrade Alien66 HD PVR 52 2010-08-04 10:49
XtraView remote stopped working on HD PVR Foxie HD PVR 2 2010-06-23 21:57
Using remote blasters Prime Installation 7 2010-02-09 10:24