Forum > Decoders > PVR Decoders > Dolby Digital via HDMI
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 2018-01-14 , 18:17
Hubert's Avatar
Hubert Hubert is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Earth, Milky Way
Posts: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by beetle bailey View Post
I do have mine set at fixed. Perhaps what I've been watching just doesn't have Dolby Digital. But definitely SEEMS to be lacking surround sound on channel 203 during some of the recent football matches. Will need to watch and listen next game.
I posted about the absence of DD 5.1 on the SS channels (particularly 203), but have had no response. It's definitely not a surround experience.
__________________
Don't you wish there was a knob on the TV to turn up the intelligence? There's one marked "Brightness", but it doesn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 2018-01-18 , 11:44
NoFear's Avatar
NoFear NoFear is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 16
I am currently watching Transformers on 106 with soundtrack set to english original and audio set to fixed and therefore no volume control. Connection is via HDMI to Samsung 46" Smart TV and the optical from the TV to a Dolby Digital Amp. The TV setting for its SPDIF output still shows the signal from Explora source as PCM. The same setup is used on PS3 and Boxee and a bluray player and the TV detects Dolby and routes to its digital signal via its TOSLINK connector to Dolby Digital Amp and the Dolby indicator lights up. So it points to an issue with Explora not ouputting a DD signal to the TV via HDMI. This configuration allows me to use TV audio for quieter times and DD Amp for full experience from any source that the TV is connected to. The TV is also DD compliant so it should receive a DD signal via HDMI from Explora.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 2018-01-18 , 11:53
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB
Posts: 15,094
It's hard to read your posts, please use paragraphs. Thnx
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 2018-01-18 , 11:53
Krugie's Avatar
Krugie Krugie is online now
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Moreleta Park, Pretoria
Posts: 4,113
I just checked this on the same channel and same movie but with my Explora connected via HDMI directly to my AMP and the DD light on the Amp does go on - so it seems the issue might be elsewhere?
__________________
Octo-LNB to 2 x 5.2 switches. Explora 1 (Primary) & HDPVR 2P (Secondary) in lounge, Samsung 55" UA55F8500 Smart 3D LED TV, HDMI picture and audio via Onkyo TX-NR626 receiver, Samsung BD-F7500 3D Blu-Ray player. Explora 1 in bedroom with HDMI picture & audio to Samsung 32" UA32F5500 Smart LED TV.
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 2018-01-18 , 12:30
NoFear's Avatar
NoFear NoFear is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 16
I am currently watching Transformers on 106 with soundtrack set to english original and audio set to fixed and therefore no volume control.

Connection is via HDMI to Samsung 46" Smart TV and the optical from the TV to a Dolby Digital Amp. The TV setting for its SPDIF output still shows the signal from Explora source as PCM.

The same setup is used on PS3 and Boxee and a bluray player and the TV detects Dolby and routes to its digital signal via its TOSLINK connector to Dolby Digital Amp and the Dolby indicator lights up.

So it points to an issue with Explora not ouputting a DD signal to the TV via HDMI. This configuration allows me to use TV audio for quieter times and DD Amp for full experience from any source that the TV is connected to. The TV is also DD compliant so it should receive a DD signal via HDMI from Explora.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 2018-01-18 , 12:34
NoFear's Avatar
NoFear NoFear is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 16
I have tried several channels and various content services. None of them appear to work.

The Explora is the only source device that does not work in this configuration.

Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 2018-01-18 , 12:47
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,323
@NoFear - what sound option is your Explora set on? Fixed or Variable?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 2018-01-18 , 13:59
beetle bailey's Avatar
beetle bailey beetle bailey is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly.
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brackenfell, Western Cape
Posts: 5,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Marietjie View Post
@NoFear - what sound option is your Explora set on? Fixed or Variable?
In his post #15 he states that it's "fixed".
__________________
Explora (Primary) and 2P HD Decoder (Secondary); Twin LNB; Samsung HT-J5550 Home Theatre System, Sony KLV-32S400A tv and Sony KLV-22Bx320 tv.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 2018-01-18 , 14:25
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by beetle bailey View Post
In his post #15 he states that it's "fixed".
Apologies, missed that.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 2018-01-18 , 14:43
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,323
We could get someone out to come look at your system - odd that it works for @Krugie and not for you. Possibly just something obvious we're missing.
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dolby Digital over HDMI Hubert Explora HD PVR 25 2013-08-21 19:20
Dolby Digital trailer (finally) in Dolby Digital JG Picture/Audio Quality 2 2011-06-22 10:08
5.1 Dolby via HDMI on UEC decoder J Gundlach HD PVR 1 2011-02-03 07:55
Still no dolby via HDMI? MC Brenda HD PVR 35 2009-12-04 22:24
5.1 dolby digital sound Rush929 HD PVR 6 2008-11-25 18:30