View Poll Results: Do you miss the Forum King?
Yes! My heart feels incomplete when the Forum King is not on the forum 1 8.33%
Yes! I think he should make more effort to be here - I don't care if he's busy 5 41.67%
No! Who is the Forum King anyway? 8 66.67%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 12. You may not vote on this poll
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #3071  
Old 2017-11-10 , 11:54
Jan Horn's Avatar
Jan Horn Jan Horn is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Welkom RSA
Posts: 466
I would say Stubborn is appropriate.
__________________
Explora 2 + Pace HD PVR P2 XV SLNB 80cm Dish Vodacom Power Tab 10
Reply With Quote
  #3072  
Old 2017-11-10 , 11:55
beetle bailey's Avatar
beetle bailey beetle bailey is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brackenfell, Western Cape
Posts: 4,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
You are indecisive - how often do you um and aah about your statements



It was a personal dig at a couple of Scorpions I know, not meant to come across as rude but I saw afterwards that I had dropped my kindness precautions too much... sorry

Will edit it now to "kinky"
Didn't take your original post as anything other than a joke which is why I replied as I did. Also meant to be taken lightly. Or was it? Now I cannot make up my mind?

The Lounge is not really the place where we discuss many serious issues although they do pop up every now and then.

Oh yes, SHOULD Merv still be around, HAPPY (belated) BIRTHDAY wishes to you. May there be many more such days.
__________________
Explora (Primary) and 2P HD Decoder (Secondary); Twin LNB; Samsung HT-J5550 Home Theatre System, Sony KLV-32S400A tv and Sony KLV-22Bx320 tv.
Reply With Quote
  #3073  
Old 2017-11-10 , 12:34
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,357
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jan Horn View Post
I would say Stubborn is appropriate.
Sounds familiar... , but I think I'll leave the post alone as it is my interpretations

Quote:
Originally Posted by beetle bailey View Post
Didn't take your original post as anything other than a joke which is why I replied as I did. Also meant to be taken lightly. Or was it? Now I cannot make up my mind?
Typical Libran answer

(BTW, remember I'm a Libran as well, b-day right next to yours...)
Reply With Quote
  #3074  
Old 2017-11-13 , 14:12
beetle bailey's Avatar
beetle bailey beetle bailey is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brackenfell, Western Cape
Posts: 4,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
(BTW, remember I'm a Libran as well, b-day right next to yours...)
Great minds and all that hey!!
__________________
Explora (Primary) and 2P HD Decoder (Secondary); Twin LNB; Samsung HT-J5550 Home Theatre System, Sony KLV-32S400A tv and Sony KLV-22Bx320 tv.
Reply With Quote
  #3075  
Old 2017-11-20 , 11:02
beetle bailey's Avatar
beetle bailey beetle bailey is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brackenfell, Western Cape
Posts: 4,941
Within the next couple of weeks Vuma will be installing fibre cabling in my street. Does anyone know whether I'm compelled to go for whatever their packaging is or can I look at taking a fibre connection from some other fibre provider? Any recommendations regarding who is a good fibre provider?

Vuma offer a 4 mbps line but then there next offering is a 20 mbps line which is too expensive for me. Other providers offer a 10 mbps which is a bit more "affordable" although still fairly pricey for my pocket.
__________________
Explora (Primary) and 2P HD Decoder (Secondary); Twin LNB; Samsung HT-J5550 Home Theatre System, Sony KLV-32S400A tv and Sony KLV-22Bx320 tv.
Reply With Quote
  #3076  
Old 2017-11-20 , 11:39
Krugie's Avatar
Krugie Krugie is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Moreleta Park, Pretoria
Posts: 3,876
Quote:
Originally Posted by beetle bailey View Post
Within the next couple of weeks Vuma will be installing fibre cabling in my street. Does anyone know whether I'm compelled to go for whatever their packaging is or can I look at taking a fibre connection from some other fibre provider? Any recommendations regarding who is a good fibre provider?

Vuma offer a 4 mbps line but then there next offering is a 20 mbps line which is too expensive for me. Other providers offer a 10 mbps which is a bit more "affordable" although still fairly pricey for my pocket.
Different service providers have agreements with different fibre providers but it is definitely possible. My fibre line is a Telkom line but I am using M-Web as my service provider - and I only pay 1 amount to M-Web - nothing to Telkom.

Best to to contact the preferred service providers you are looking at and asking them whether they have an agreement to use Vuma fibre lines. In some areas - especially within estates - there are often an exclusive-use agreement in place.
__________________
Octo-LNB to 2 x 5.2 switches. Explora 1 (Primary) & HDPVR 2P (Secondary) in lounge, Samsung 55" UA55F8500 Smart 3D LED TV, HDMI picture and audio via Onkyo TX-NR626 receiver, Samsung BD-F7500 3D Blu-Ray player. Explora 1 in bedroom with HDMI picture & audio to Samsung 32" UA32F5500 Smart LED TV.
Reply With Quote
  #3077  
Old 2017-11-20 , 12:47
Citanul's Avatar
Citanul Citanul is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 2,301
Quote:
Originally Posted by beetle bailey View Post
Vuma offer a 4 mbps line but then there next offering is a 20 mbps line which is too expensive for me. Other providers offer a 10 mbps which is a bit more "affordable" although still fairly pricey for my pocket.
This is a comment rather than answering your question, but I do think providers could work on their pricing, as from my perspective there's not a compelling reason to switch to fibre.

I currently have a 4 mbps line with Afrihost which is capped (100GB), but I never get anywhere close to that cap, so for all intents and purposes it's effectively uncapped. That costs me R458pm, but Afrihost fibre 4 mbps 100GB capped is R557pm, so why would I want to change?

Granted, that R458pm doesn't include the Telkom phone line, but my alarm is connected to that, so I still need to keep it. And other providers have similar sorts of prices - I haven't seen anything comparable (or better) to what I already have at a better price.

I get that even at the same quoted speed fibre will generally give a better performance than ADSL, but my line is currently adequate for my needs. While faster would be nice, it's not as though I have problems streaming, accessing websites, and downloads, so I don't feel it's worth the additional cost and for now I'm not going to bother making the switch.
__________________
DStv Series Start Dates - http://alturl.com/yaujr
Reply With Quote
  #3078  
Old 2017-11-20 , 13:02
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,357
It seems that's quite a common sentiment Citanul, even beyond our shores where broadband is far more cost effective. I saw an article recently about ISP's in the States that have been proven to have been purposely avoiding copper cable maintenance and repairs to try boost fibre subscriptions as the population are not seeing it as a beneficial enough change.
Reply With Quote
  #3079  
Old 2017-11-20 , 14:26
beetle bailey's Avatar
beetle bailey beetle bailey is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Brackenfell, Western Cape
Posts: 4,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krugie View Post
Best to to contact the preferred service providers you are looking at and asking them whether they have an agreement to use Vuma fibre lines. In some areas - especially within estates - there are often an exclusive-use agreement in place.
Krugie I posted my question because I have contacted my service provider, in this case Axxess, asking them the question I posed here. Unfortunately, they haven't given me an answer yet. This approximately a week since I first asked.

Thanks all for your comments. Appreciated.
__________________
Explora (Primary) and 2P HD Decoder (Secondary); Twin LNB; Samsung HT-J5550 Home Theatre System, Sony KLV-32S400A tv and Sony KLV-22Bx320 tv.
Reply With Quote
  #3080  
Old 2017-11-20 , 14:34
Krugie's Avatar
Krugie Krugie is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Moreleta Park, Pretoria
Posts: 3,876
On the M-web website - and I'm sure many other service providers, you can enter your address or suburb and you will then see immediately whether they can assist there and with what packages. Vuma is listed there but your area might not be loaded as active yet.

It is possible that Axxess does not have an agreement with Vuma though in which case you would have to change service providers.
__________________
Octo-LNB to 2 x 5.2 switches. Explora 1 (Primary) & HDPVR 2P (Secondary) in lounge, Samsung 55" UA55F8500 Smart 3D LED TV, HDMI picture and audio via Onkyo TX-NR626 receiver, Samsung BD-F7500 3D Blu-Ray player. Explora 1 in bedroom with HDMI picture & audio to Samsung 32" UA32F5500 Smart LED TV.
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The "Lounge Thread" Part 2 Forum King General 547 2014-05-13 08:15
"The Lounge" Thread Optimist General 1002 2014-01-10 08:02
Rules for "The Lounge" thread Optimist General 4 2013-08-21 12:37
Forum lounge Optimist General 4 2013-05-03 14:16