Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2009-06-24 , 09:09
walterl walterl is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Default Lost Signal

My SD PVR decoder all of a sudden lost the signal last night while I was watching the Rugby match between the British and Irish Lions and the Emerging Boks.

I did a few reboots, but it never got the signal back, not even this morning.

Does this sound like my decoder is stuffed? I'm planning to go past Multichoice during lunch to have it checked out.
  #2  
Old 2009-06-24 , 09:29
Staffy's Avatar
Staffy Staffy is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 784
Have you rebooted this morning, I am in Cape Town and the last time we has storms like we are having now, mine cut out for quite some time...
__________________
SD PVR (Refurbished), XV Not Ready, RF Split between 2 rooms, no active splitter. Ellies Remote Blaster. Dual LNB 60cm Dish
  #3  
Old 2009-06-24 , 09:38
walterl walterl is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Sorry, I should have mentioned that we had clear skies all day yesterday and today, so the weather did not have an influence in this problem.

I did do another reboot this morning, but still didn't help.
  #4  
Old 2009-06-24 , 13:06
walterl walterl is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
Just got back from Multichoice, the decoder tested fine, so the problem is in the dish or the cabling...which is irritating as we moved house about 18 months ago and had the cabling done then, so it's not like it was ages ago.
  #5  
Old 2009-06-24 , 18:33
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,258
Quote:
Originally Posted by walterl View Post
Just got back from Multichoice, the decoder tested fine, so the problem is in the dish or the cabling...which is irritating as we moved house about 18 months ago and had the cabling done then, so it's not like it was ages ago.
(1) It is not the antenna itself, but either the LNB or the cabling
(2) First check the connectors on the cables, then on the LNB. If these are okay then one or more of the LNB ports have failed and a replacement LNB is called for.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off