Forum > Decoders > Installation > 2 x Explora and 1x DSTV hd pvr 2p installation
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-12-06 , 12:06
Rambeo Rambeo is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 15
Default 2 x Explora and 1x DSTV hd pvr 2p installation

Hi All

I wish to install 1x Old explora, 1x New model explora and 1x DSTV hd pvr 2p.

I have a smart lnb with 3 x unicable ports and 1x universal.

Can these 3 decoders be installed in extra extra view ( i.e 3 viewing areas and still have access to record on all three.

I understand that each decoder can be setup close to individual TV's and viewing will be done to the respective tv invia hdmi. I would also like each viewing area to have access to the other 2 decoders via rf.

Am I correct in saying that when connected through the smart lnb there is no further requirement for a heartbeat cable as this is achieved through the lnb unicable ports.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-12-06 , 13:57
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,470
Hi. I'm just going to get you started so you don't waste time, as there's a problem with your desires which will change what you plan to do and then what questions to ask.

For 3 decoders connected with XV (XtraView) under the same account, unfortunately ONLY the following combinations are possible;
  • At least 1, else 2 or 3 Exploras (either or both model(s))
  • 0, 1 or 2 HD Decoders (4136 and/or 4137 model(s)) - these are NOT PVRs.
More than 3 decoders on the same account is not possible either.
Please note that it is quite difficult to use RF on the 4137 as extra equipment is then needed. Hopefully you'll still find a 4136 if that's wanted.

Your question about routing the HB (heartbeat) through your SLNB (Smart LNB) - yes, that can be done and the detail will be explained by others helping.

Last edited by Optimist; 2017-12-06 at 14:07. . Reason: Tidy up
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-12-06 , 13:58
MC Field Services MC Field Services is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 333
The HD pvr 2P is not conpatitable with extraview 3, you would need to purchase another HD decoder 4137/4136 if available or another explora2a .
older model decoders software dont support extraview 3 enviroment sorry.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-12-06 , 14:02
MC Field Services MC Field Services is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 333
Explora 2a and the new HD5 series 4137 can be connected directly to the smartlnb without the need for a heartbest cable , however the other decoders would require a heartbeat cable between the primary and secondary or a diplexer on the back of the older decoder to create a uniview connection.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-12-08 , 10:28
Rambeo Rambeo is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 15
Thank You that sounds quite clear.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-12-08 , 10:32
Rambeo Rambeo is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Field Services View Post
The HD pvr 2P is not conpatitable with extraview 3, you would need to purchase another HD decoder 4137/4136 if available or another explora2a .
older model decoders software dont support extraview 3 enviroment sorry.
I would like to know from what are subscribers supposed to do with decoders that are still fully functional, insured, but of no use to the extraview 3 option. Especially if they are not considered obsolete by MC as yet.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-12-08 , 10:40
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,471
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rambeo View Post
I would like to know from what are subscribers supposed to do with decoders that are still fully functional, insured, but of no use to the extraview 3 option. Especially if they are not considered obsolete by MC as yet.
Try and sell them out of hand for a few bucks. get them off your insurance as soon as you are no longer using them.

Which decoders do you have?
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-12-08 , 11:26
Rambeo Rambeo is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
Try and sell them out of hand for a few bucks. get them off your insurance as soon as you are no longer using them.

Which decoders do you have?
I have 1x hd PVR 2p, 1x sd PVR, 1x PACE 4 tuner HD PVR, 1x old model single view SD ( the old Silver one, not sure of the model. )
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2017-12-08 , 12:59
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,471
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rambeo View Post
I have 1x hd PVR 2p, 1x sd PVR, 1x PACE 4 tuner HD PVR, 1x old model single view SD ( the old Silver one, not sure of the model. )

I presume some of them are still active? If so, the SD PVR should be swopped out with one of MCs deals. The HD PVR2P still has some value and the Pace 4 tuner also.

Where are you in SA?
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2017-12-08 , 13:11
Rambeo Rambeo is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 15
In Johannesburg.
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with XtraView installation - Explora and HD PVR machos Installation 10 2016-07-06 07:48
HD-PVR Explora + HD PVR installation brad111 Installation 12 2014-10-11 19:17
DSTV explora self installation - does it automatically scan? renatelamprecht Installation 1 2014-05-26 11:55
Xtraview installation between Explora and 4P HD PVR Cobus Griesel Installation 3 2014-05-14 16:21
DStv Explora - Installation MC Fathima Explora HD PVR 52 2014-04-26 16:13