Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2017-05-19 , 08:31
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,830
In case I'm not here - here's more for other readers of the thread, as some HD PVR decoders can be adjusted;

Help for blank channels or E48 on the 2P (and 4P?) HD PVRs: http://forum.dstv.com/showthread.php...839#post319839 (other HD PVRs will require an installation upgrade, post #93 (which follows this one) will explain.)
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2017-05-19 , 09:55
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by Red Baron View Post
Thanks Marietjie.

I can tune to it, but as i said I get the Set-top box error.
My Quality is 100% on 1, 2, 4 on 3 it is 95%. On signal strength it is a from 92% - 100 % between all the channels but steady.
Unfortunately, as of last night's fix on the EPG, anyone with a MS in their installs will not be able to receive the 195 EHD channel IF they are tuned to any other Vertically polarized channel at the same time or trying to record another channel on a vertical transponder.

You have the exact same setup as I have, with a normal Universal LNB and a 2 x 6 MS. (and the EasyView Package)

Initially when MC released these new channels, we were able to get both 195 Standard view and 195 HD, plus the My channels EPG was a complete mess.

You should have been able to tune to both 195 SD and 195 HD. Last night, the EPG was fixed and this morning only 195HD is available.

So recheck you "favourites" selection as if you had selected 195 SD, it will no longer be available.

Just make sure the local oscillator frequency (10700) matches the LNB you have. If you have a new LNB find out what its Lo frequency is. It could be 10600. If so, change the setting on the decoder from 10700 to 10600. (10700 is the default suitable for older LNBs).

Okay so the plot thickens! The UEC decoder never had the sw update to include a LNB switching frequency. Sowe were always receiving the channels directly on Lo and Hi band directly and still do. Up until now it mostly never affected any of us on EasyView because our package never included any channel on Hi band transponders.

So now last night, after MC "fixed" the EPG on the UEC (), They have now caused us a problem IF you have a MS in your install!
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15

Last edited by Geoff D; 2017-05-19 at 10:25. .
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2017-05-19 , 10:35
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,254
The options available to you are:

(1) Replace the LNB you have with an 8-way LNB and do away with the MS with 4 LNB cables from the antenna to the decoder,

(2) Get a Quad LNB and a 24-1Z MS to feed the UEC decoder via a SATCR connection and the single view decoder via universal port.

(3) Get a quad LNB and use the 2 x 6 MS to feed the UEC decoder on its own, with one of the other ports feeding the single view decoder, and never tune to any other vertical channel while viewing 195EHD. Provided the specific make of MS you have will pass the 22kHz tone required for hi-band

(4) Give up the UEC decoder and switch to an Explora and a SLNB

(5) Never watch or record ch 195 EHD on the UEC decoder.

PS:
Of course the SD PVR (not bothered by these HD channel shenanigans), carries on working regardless
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15

Last edited by Geoff D; 2017-05-19 at 11:12. .
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2017-05-19 , 10:43
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,830
Just to clarify since Geoff's edit and next post;
  • Currently the "Hi band" channels are not classified as Hi Band by MC, but UEC HD PVR's have no choice but to work with them that way.
  • These are currently only Vertically polarised, so no complications yet with receiving / recording anything that's horizontally polarised.
  • It is still possible to view or record these higher frequency vertically polarised channels with a MultiSwitch (MS) on a UEC HD PVR, the problem comes in when another tuner using the MS (on the same or a different decoder) needs to access Lo Band Vertical at the same time.
  • The general installation solution possibilities are discussed in some further detail in Preparing for Hi Band (NOT an immediate need)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2017-05-19 , 10:58
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geoff D View Post
PS:
Of course the SD PVR (not bothered by these HD channel shenanigans), carries on working regardless
tick, tick, tick...
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2017-05-19 , 11:00
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,254
Maybe MC can make an exception to help those with EUC HD PVR (4tuner) PVRs by allowing us to receiver 195 E (SD) as they did up until last night?

That would mean we would not have to be concerned too much with the 195EHD ch being on a Hi-band transponder?
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2017-05-19 , 11:28
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,038
I'm speaking to a few of our technical and platform guys. Will get back to you when I have a clear steer on this one.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2017-05-19 , 13:19
Red Baron Red Baron is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 242
Geoff/Optimist
Thank you for all your feedback.
That is my summary as well. As Geoff indicated I did get the 195 SD briefly, but then it disappeared.
I have looked at what the channel offer, would have been nice as an extra channel on my package, but not to loose my head over.
Maybe they can give us the SD channel back.
__________________
on Easyview with XtraView, DSD1110 (Secondary), UEC HDPVR (Primary)2REC/4T, Dual LNB, 2x6-way m/switch. Sony 7.1 AMP Sony 46TV + Walka
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 2017-05-19 , 13:27
Red Baron Red Baron is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Cape Town
Posts: 242
Hi Guys,
I don't know if I broke it or upset the apple cart. I went to change the LNB Mode from UNI to std. The LNB HI went away.

The good thing is that I have now 195 HD. Will this have any other consequences?
Sometimes it is good if you are not a techno person.
__________________
on Easyview with XtraView, DSD1110 (Secondary), UEC HDPVR (Primary)2REC/4T, Dual LNB, 2x6-way m/switch. Sony 7.1 AMP Sony 46TV + Walka
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 2017-05-19 , 13:47
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,830
Should work fine with no consequences. Until MC decide to use the real even higher Hi Band.

Based on my past experiments on another older decoder - what happens is the Standard setting ignores Hi Band, and then (only then) the current higher frequencies in use are seen by the decoder as being part of the top edge of Lo Band

If it all continues to work then no adjustments at all are currently required, but that doesn't mean there can't be side effects... (unlikely IMO)
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 TVs linked to Single View - can't tune in SABC and eTV channels on 2nd TV ClintyG Installation 5 2010-06-30 10:17
Poor sound(static) on SABC1/2/3 and ETV nelis Picture/Audio Quality 1 2010-05-10 10:25
Green Bar on etv (134) ABII HD PVR 3 2009-08-11 16:32
No etv or SABC after i disconnected DSTV Clinton123 Service Queries 6 2009-08-10 20:18