Forum > Decoders > PVR Decoders > Explora signal quality issues
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-05-16 , 11:40
jpypers jpypers is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 17
Default Explora signal quality issues

Hi,

After about a year of having no major issues (apart from losing my scheduled recordings), this weekend's cold front broke my Explora again.

So basically for the whole weekend I couldn't watch most of the HD channels.

MC replaced the SLNB during May last year after I've spent close to R1500 to move the dish and replace the cable.

I have tried to send a message to MC Marietjie (who helped me previously), but it doesn't go through.

Does anyone know who from MC to contact these days and whether the new 501 SLNB is any better in dealing with the cold?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-05-16 , 12:15
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,403
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpypers View Post
Hi,

After about a year of having no major issues (apart from losing my scheduled recordings), this weekend's cold front broke my Explora again.

So basically for the whole weekend I couldn't watch most of the HD channels.

MC replaced the SLNB during May last year after I've spent close to R1500 to move the dish and replace the cable.

I have tried to send a message to MC Marietjie (who helped me previously), but it doesn't go through.

Does anyone know who from MC to contact these days and whether the new 501 SLNB is any better in dealing with the cold?

Thanks.

Where exactly do you live? And what is the problem at the moment?
There must be something really wrong with your install if you are continuing to have these problems that do not correct themselves after a spell of bad weather.

Maybe a photo of your antenna install will help in trying to highlight what could be wrong?

No, simply changing the SLNB all the time is not the answer. You need to pinpoint what is wrong first.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-05-16 , 12:51
jpypers jpypers is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 17
Hi Geoff,

I stay in Moreletapark Pretoria. During the day when the sun is out, everything seems fine as the signal quality stays above 90%. During the evenings (and cold winter days) things go very bad.

I can send you a picture of my dish installation, but it was reinstalled by someone that comes highly recommended and also checked by MC's tech last year.

The Explora was installed in March 2016 and worked fine until May 2016. The SLNB was replaced by MC in May 2016.

Jaques

Last edited by jpypers; 2017-05-16 at 12:56. .
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-05-16 , 13:43
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,403
There are only a few things that would cause such a drastic change due to temperature especially in PTA, where it has not been anywhere near cold enough to be a major problem.

(1) Antenna:

(a) Not pointed properly, or obscured by some or other obstacle. (Antenna actually pointed on a side lobe instead of the main lobe).
(b) The bolts holding the reflector on to the mounting bracket have been over tightened, leading to the shape distorting when the temperature changes.

(2) Cabling:

(a) bad connections
(b) Loose connectors
(c) old cables that have deteriorated
(d) Joints in the length that have been poorly done.

(3) LNB:

(a) Overtightened connections causing dry joints to develop
(b) Skew angle out --- Moves when cables contract and expand.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15

Last edited by Geoff D; 2017-05-16 at 13:51. .
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-05-17 , 13:52
jpypers jpypers is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 17
Hi Geoff,

I have attached some pictures of the installation:

Dish location:

Dish location.jpg

Line of site:

LOS from LNB.jpg

Cable and SLNB:

Cable into LNB.jpg

Dish vertical angle:

Dish vertical angle.jpg

Based on my location (Position is -25.843 28.292), can you suggest the correct vertical, horizontal and skew angles?

Jaques

Last edited by jpypers; 2017-05-17 at 14:00. .
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-05-17 , 14:14
chrisvdh's Avatar
chrisvdh chrisvdh is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Henley on Klip
Posts: 880
There is nothing in the way to the sat but air!

That dish looks too vertical, but then the pic might be off. So the lnb arm may not be in correct position with relation to the dish?

my 200 cents.
__________________
90cm dish; LMX502 ; Explora as Primary in lounge, HD-PVR2 in flat; XV heartbeat via RF outs; Samsung 60LED7000 via HDMI and Sony 42" 576p panel via composite; Flat has 32" Hi-Sense. Denon AVRX1100 configured for 5.1; Sony BluRay; WD media player; All using HDMI/optical/coax.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-05-17 , 14:24
jpypers jpypers is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 17
Hi Chris,

According to the last pic I assume the vertical angle is somewhere between 30 and 40 degrees, but that scale seems a bit odd.

Jaques
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-05-19 , 14:04
MC Field Services MC Field Services is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 326
please send me a private message with your details , its possible the issue is the same as in the past as you have the old LMX500. since they replaced it its been warm until the past weekend. so hence the fault appeared.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2017-05-19 , 14:08
MC Field Services MC Field Services is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 326
don't go changing your installation ,depending where you live the angle would be slightly different .
please send me ur contact details on a private message
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2017-05-19 , 14:51
jpypers jpypers is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 17
Thank you MC Field Services.

I have sent you a PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Issues with signal not found, and poor picture quality when not on HDMI abed PVR Decoders 2 2014-10-03 11:05
Signal Strength v Signal Quality Geoff D Picture/Audio Quality 5 2011-01-11 14:23
HD PVR SATCR Signal Strenght and Quality Issues Dr3wza Installation 17 2010-05-06 14:18
Signal Strength vs Signal Quality AndrewD Installation 6 2010-03-17 13:49
Signal Strength vs Signal Quality AndrewD Installation 5 2009-01-21 15:45