Forum > Decoders > Installation > Dish Installation
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-05-03 , 08:59
@AS007 @AS007 is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 8
Default Dish Installation

Hi there...

Is there anyone that could provide me with some info on the following :
* I had an extra-view setup with 2 DSD1131 decoders.
* then got an explorer with a smart LNB.
* the installers put up the new dish with the smart LNB next to my old dish.
* so i now have the explora as my primary and one 1131 as my secondary. However I now have 2 dishes on my roof : One running my normal 1131 (secondary decoder) and the other for my explora.

My question is, is this necesary...? can I not run both from one dish?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-05-03 , 09:04
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,027
Quote:
Originally Posted by @AS007 View Post
My question is, is this necesary...? can I not run both from one dish?
Absolutely you can, it's very odd that the installers decided to do things this way. I would call them back and have them sort things out properly.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-05-03 , 09:13
@AS007 @AS007 is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 8
Thanks Optimist
Seeing that the dish is aligned already...any way I could just pull out the cable from the old dish and put into the new one (running the explora)...or would I need to call the installers back.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-05-03 , 09:17
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,027
Sure thing :-)
Yep, if you're careful not to affect the alignment of the new dish or LNB.

I presume the 1131 is connected to the old dish.
Turn off both decoders.
Then disconnect the 1131's LNB feed from the old dish's LNB and attach it to the new dish's Smart LNB (SLNB) using its Universal port.
Turn the decoders back on, best to let the primary boot first - all should then still work fine.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-05-03 , 09:34
@AS007 @AS007 is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 8
Thanks alot....will check it out and see if I come right.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2017-05-04 , 09:38
MC Field Services MC Field Services is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 270
@AS007 sorry but that installer should have used one dish for cosmetic purposes unless instructed otherwise. as mentioned above. please forward me a private message if you have any issues with the installer.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2017-05-04 , 10:05
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,087
Stop the trolley for a moment.

No one asked OP anything about the new antenna and its diameter nor the condition of the old antenna.

If the old antenna is in good condition, AND it is the larger of the two rather use that for the permanent arrangement.

If the new antenna is the larger, then by all means concentrate the services to work off the new one.

Assuming the new antenna is to be used, then make sure you move the 1131 LNB cable the old LNB to the SLNB connecting to the single legacy port available, NOT to the other three ports (Assuming the SLNB model is LMX 501).

Switch OFF the 1131 decoder before doing anything.
Make sure the old cable is good condition and not showing signs of cracking and flaking. Make sure the connector is in good condition and clean.

Reboot the decoder after the cable swop. Check all functionality is back and working.
get rid of the old antenna, its LNB and the support bracket unless of course you have other plans for it.





.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-05-04 , 10:14
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,027
I think a new dish having been installed must mean it was part of the deal, so then should be MC's recommended 80 / 90 cm size and so more or less match or be bigger than the original dish.

By legacy port, Geoff means that Universal port - that's how it will be labelled.

One other thing - don't over-tighten the connection, best to always only hand tighten any of them.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2017-05-04 , 10:30
@AS007 @AS007 is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 8
Thanks GeoffD

The new Dish is larger - so I would assume using the cable from the 1131 and connect to the SLNB.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2017-05-04 , 11:19
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,087
Quote:
Originally Posted by @AS007 View Post
Thanks GeoffD

The new Dish is larger - so I would assume using the cable from the 1131 and connect to the SLNB.
yes that would be the correct thing to do. Simple enough if you can get to the antennas.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
90 cm dish versus 80 cm dish smiggles Installation 8 2016-04-18 16:20
Changing a 60cm dish with a 85cm dish mm001 Installation 3 2012-05-07 15:05
Dish installation:confused: JohanH Installation 21 2009-01-15 17:05
SA 'DiSH' vs. African 'DiSH' robza171 DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 13 2009-01-12 19:52
HD PVR installation with 60cm dish? Franco Marais Installation 2 2008-12-09 22:20