Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11  
Old 2017-02-25 , 13:08
Sandtonman's Avatar
Sandtonman Sandtonman is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Morningside, Sandton or Ashford, Kent; seasonal
Posts: 4,296
Quote:
Originally Posted by JacoHD View Post
...... I tested it other streaming services like Netflix works wonderful at the same time when Catchup Plus plays up ......
That's precisely the type of comparison I'm making too, Jaco.

Netflix, Amazon Prime Video, BBC Iplayer; plus the "unmentionable" device in my study in Kent which is connected to a dedicated baby Humax PVR on Freesat, it's brilliant for live UK TV. We love Homes Under the Hammer, Countdown and particularly, Pointless!
All of the above services give me a terrific, spinner-free streaming experience, typically in HD.

And, before you ask; yes, I definitely have a current UK TV licence ( 145 quid! ). We spend almost half the year based there, each year now and are completely legit.

Cheers, K.
__________________
Lounge: Dual LNB feed, 24-1Z Switch, Explora-2, LG 42" LED TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Pioneer HT Amp (5.1), Tannoy S8s x 5, 5 15" Tannoy Sub. LG Blu-ray; Simplink working
Bedroom: Unicable Feeds from lounge: 2 x Explora-1s, Sony V-Series TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Sony Blu-ray HT System (5.1), Slingbox Solo; 3-way XV; Bravia Sync working

Last edited by Sandtonman; 2017-02-25 at 13:50. .
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 2017-02-26 , 20:57
Luke7777's Avatar
Luke7777 Luke7777 is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Menlo Park Pretoria
Posts: 1,422
Just to add to this one.. my SP is Afrihost. Although MC might be aware of this , they still won't really acknowledge that *they* might have a problem (as per post #6). We can run independent speedtests until doomsday comes. Maybe they should add a speedtest to the connectivity tab
__________________
Quad LNB Explora switch 5.1
Explora (Primary) Pace 4P HDPVR (Secondary)
Xtraview - decoders same room - 3 distributed HDMI endpoints via 2x4 Matrix and Cat6
40Mb VDSL (ISP AH Capped Unshaped)
------------------------------------------
DSD1110 in holiday mode
DSTV Mobile via Drifta WiFi (S5& iPad)

Last edited by Luke7777; 2017-02-26 at 20:59. .
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 2017-02-27 , 10:29
Krugie's Avatar
Krugie Krugie is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Moreleta Park, Pretoria
Posts: 3,591
I experienced this again on Saturday afternoon with a BBC Earth doccie in HD on my 100Mbps fibre line (M-Web). After the initial countdown waiting period only 13 seconds had buffered so eventually I had to pause to give it time to buffer a few minutes before continuing to watch.
__________________
Octo-LNB to 2 x 5.2 switches. Explora 1 (Primary) & HDPVR 2P (Secondary) in lounge, Samsung 55" UA55F8500 Smart 3D LED TV, HDMI picture and audio via Onkyo TX-NR626 receiver, Samsung BD-F7500 3D Blu-Ray player. Explora 1 in bedroom with HDMI picture & audio to Samsung 32" UA32F5500 Smart LED TV.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 2017-02-28 , 21:13
caneman caneman is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 148
This is bad! Over two and half hours to download Episode 1 of Hunters which is 60Min.long
There is nothing wrong with my download speed and I can stream other sites.

Last Result:
Download Speed: 9756 kbps (1219.5 KB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 857 kbps (107.1 KB/sec transfer rate)
Latency: 14 ms
Jitter: 1 ms
2017/02/28, 9:02:43 PM
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 2017-03-01 , 12:00
Krugie's Avatar
Krugie Krugie is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Moreleta Park, Pretoria
Posts: 3,591
We have had no response from MC regarding this apart from asking people to do speed tests? This is clearly a general hardware/setup problem on the side of MC and not linked to individual subscribers and their line performances.
__________________
Octo-LNB to 2 x 5.2 switches. Explora 1 (Primary) & HDPVR 2P (Secondary) in lounge, Samsung 55" UA55F8500 Smart 3D LED TV, HDMI picture and audio via Onkyo TX-NR626 receiver, Samsung BD-F7500 3D Blu-Ray player. Explora 1 in bedroom with HDMI picture & audio to Samsung 32" UA32F5500 Smart LED TV.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 2017-03-01 , 13:13
JacoHD JacoHD is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 79
I cannot understand as a premium subscriber that locally we have such poor speeds. I have a fiber line, which streams and downloads content at the speed of light from oversea... but Catch Up Plus (many of my shows I watch fall under CU Plus) have to be so slow!
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 2017-03-01 , 21:41
MC Pamela MC Pamela is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 384
Hi All

Apologies for the delayed response. We've escalated the issues to the decoder support and CU team to look into and assist. Feedback will be posted once received.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 2017-03-02 , 12:40
Sandtonman's Avatar
Sandtonman Sandtonman is offline
4K, baby!
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Morningside, Sandton or Ashford, Kent; seasonal
Posts: 4,296
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Pamela View Post
Hi All

Apologies for the delayed response. We've escalated the issues to the decoder support and CU team to look into and assist. Feedback will be posted once received.
Hi Pamela, we've been discussing this issue now for well over a year, on the Forum.

We've ascertained that it is not a function of the Explorae themselves, or of the Users' individual connectivity.

It appears to be a constraint in the complex internet routing to MC's media servers and/or constraints in the media servers themselves.

@GeoffD commented on the complexity of the routing in some detail.

We have had no feedback over this time form MC, despite previous "escalations", by MC Nic who was involved at the time.

Cheers, K.
__________________
Lounge: Dual LNB feed, 24-1Z Switch, Explora-2, LG 42" LED TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Pioneer HT Amp (5.1), Tannoy S8s x 5, 5 15" Tannoy Sub. LG Blu-ray; Simplink working
Bedroom: Unicable Feeds from lounge: 2 x Explora-1s, Sony V-Series TV, HDMI + Fibre audio, Sony Blu-ray HT System (5.1), Slingbox Solo; 3-way XV; Bravia Sync working
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 2017-03-02 , 13:15
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,224
Yes unfortunately, much effort on my part to help MC analyse the problem has gone wasted. I even reached point where I could tell which "hop" and which devices on each side of that link were responsible. I showed how download traffic trombones between JHB and CT up to 3 times under certain conditions before it gets to the server that should be streaming the content. All wasted effort.

My solution? Have completely stopped using their download services. I have no intention of raising my hopes that it actually works again and ending up at the same point reached 3 years ago.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(2), PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
Win 10 Pro (64-bit) version 1703, build 15063.138
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2x6 MS, FSM permanently connected.
MS Edge 40 with MSEdge HTML 15
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 2017-03-04 , 22:03
MC Pamela MC Pamela is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 384
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sandtonman View Post
Hi Pamela, we've been discussing this issue now for well over a year, on the Forum.

We've ascertained that it is not a function of the Explorae themselves, or of the Users' individual connectivity.

It appears to be a constraint in the complex internet routing to MC's media servers and/or constraints in the media servers themselves.

@GeoffD commented on the complexity of the routing in some detail.

We have had no feedback over this time form MC, despite previous "escalations", by MC Nic who was involved at the time.

Cheers, K.
Hi Sandtonman

Apologies for the delayed response.

Our VOD team implemented a change that was logged late last week with regards to our peering server infrastructure.

Kindly advise if there has been any noticeable improvements. Also PM us your smartcard numbers and contact numbers to forward to the team for further assistance.
Reply With Quote
Reply  
Tags
catchup plus, download speed
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CatchUp+ Download Speeds Krugie DStv Catch Up 11 2017-02-21 16:24
Desktop download is seriously slow Toilet Duck DStv Catch Up 4 2015-03-09 10:58
Two Speeds indicated for Downloading Digital Fan DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 5 2012-08-01 15:26
'Video on demand' download to HD PVR Bryopsis HD PVR 3 2009-09-21 16:49
1110 - Remote stops working after auto download davey Standard decoder 4 2008-12-16 17:31