Forum > Decoders > Installation > boxoffice not working
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2016-04-01 , 07:42
wezhira wezhira is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 108
Default boxoffice not working

When doing a new installation . is there anyway to check if box office will work ?

had a few instances where going back two days later get error box office not available in your region .

signal and quality greater than 80%
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2016-04-01 , 08:28
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,506
Hi, there's no known way to pre-check but for understanding & solutions see Box Office not available in your region in the Box Office section (I'm sure I don't need to tell you to read all of the advice in it )

BTW, quality needs to be greater than 90%
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2016-04-01 , 09:49
wezhira wezhira is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 108
I saw, the thread.
Think it's a bit dumb though.
And it must be a glitch in new decoders.
Seen decoders with signal quality of 70%
With working box-office
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2016-04-01 , 10:40
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,506
Nothing dumb about a few of us spending weeks working on the details of the varieties of the problem and coming up with safe-even-for-newbies answers.
We were told in another thread that the factory made a mistake with some Exploras.
Recommended signal levels are based on lots of forum experience and official input, anything below those levels is unreliable long term.

I'm done assisting here.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2016-04-01 , 19:06
wezhira wezhira is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 108
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
Nothing dumb about a few of us spending weeks working on the details of the varieties of the problem and coming up with safe-even-for-newbies answers.
We were told in another thread that the factory made a mistake with some Exploras.
Recommended signal levels are based on lots of forum experience and official input, anything below those levels is unreliable long term.

I'm done assisting here.
sorry you got me wrong . Whats dumb is the not being able to check if box office is working , Imagine being a installer . doing a installation in some far out area and you have to go back a few days later simply because box office is not working .
And yes the signals will be great just a error on the decoders
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2016-04-01 , 19:08
wezhira wezhira is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 108
what i have found that actually works is this

Sounds like a Hard Drive problem. I would suggest a format.You will however lose recordings and reminders.
Press and hold the standby key, the decoder will reboot. Then press the P+ immediately, until CODE is displayed

Then Press the below key combination. 0101 will be displayed on the FP when these keys are pressed.

P- P+ P- P+ for HDD format(0101)
then once again P+ (1) to confirm
you will see "hddf" in front panel display

http://forum.dstv.com/showthread.php?t=24112
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2016-04-01 , 20:57
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,506
For those taking the above "shortcut" (just the same as doing it in the menu), please first see the thread I gave a link to as there are a number of things to check first, failing which could lead to an unneeded re-format or things like XtraView setup problems etc. that then require headaches / expense to sort out again.

@Wezhira,
Still not a dumb issue, odd errors happen in all industries of course and can't always be imagined and prepared for.
As you know your contributions are appreciated, I'm sure by all, but please take care not to sometimes rush your conclusions when you haven't been around and involved for a while like we have, potentially undoing things we've worked long & hard determining and helping with. There has been a lot of confusion and further problems caused for some by this Explora error due to quite a few complexities you've missed, some of which involved discussion with the Mods. My above concerns are just a few of them. Thanks.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wezhira View Post
And yes the signals will be great just a error on the decoders
So far, unlike with older decoders we have seen very few possibilities of that degree of error on the many Exploras worked on here and only a couple of those were actually suspected but never confirmed to have any confusing enough variation.
But if you have FSM readings that can confirm this then that would be very helpful.

I'm sure you may want to add more but I'll leave it there as I've now covered what I consider necessary.

Last edited by Optimist; 2016-04-01 at 22:32. . Reason: Enough detail
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2016-04-01 , 22:53
wezhira wezhira is offline
Knows how to use a remote
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 108
Sure Optimist
Reply With Quote
Reply
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
TV Guide not working and PVR channel display not working kleeprop HD PVR 5 2013-09-29 07:39
BoxOffice not working correctly. J Gundlach DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 5 2012-02-22 13:11
Remote volume not working - not a redirect issue justinthyme56 Remote Controls 0 2012-02-01 14:59
BoxOffice 101: Tips for making the most of DStv BoxOffice this weekend MC Brenda DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 0 2011-07-29 17:06
I have BoxOffice titles on my HD PVR, but not (yet) on my SD PVR? Simon DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 6 2011-07-22 10:06