Forum > Decoders > Installation > Xtraview Smartcard link Issue - Snowing
Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2017-04-09 , 21:35
sd_steve's Avatar
sd_steve sd_steve is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 445
Default Xtraview Smartcard link Issue - Snowing

Hi

I have a dish with smart LNB

Explora (Lounge )

HDPVR (Lounge)

It was setup by the installers correctly tuned to show the decoder 1 and 2 on channels on TVs in bedrooms. Showing a clear image of both channels.

But after the Xtraview activation and smart card link (apparently the heartbeat changes)

TV's in the bedrooms have now gone fuzzy (snowing), even though they were showing a smooth picture before.

Any idea what is going on? Thanks for reading this
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2017-04-10 , 06:59
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,355
Quote:
Originally Posted by sd_steve View Post
It was setup by the installers correctly tuned to show the decoder 1 and 2 on channels on TVs in bedrooms. Showing a clear image of both channels.

But after the Xtraview activation and smart card link (apparently the heartbeat changes)

TV's in the bedrooms have now gone fuzzy (snowing), even though they were showing a smooth picture before.
Hi Steve,

Their excuse is probably nonsense, even if a normally working HB (heartbeat) could ever noticeably affect the quality of you pictures (never heard of that in 7 years of such reading / helping) the setup would then easily be adjusted - call back the installers to do the job properly, else you're surely entitled to a refund.

However, I don't know if it's possible for a HB to go completely wrong and cause a problem - if so it would be a faulty primary decoder that needs exchanging, also to be handled by the installers.

My experienced guess - a poor connection they made that played up after they left, nothing to do with the HB.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2017-04-10 , 08:08
Luke7777's Avatar
Luke7777 Luke7777 is online now
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Menlo Park Pretoria
Posts: 1,521
Maybe just UHF settings gone wrong between decoders and TVs?
__________________
Quad LNB Explora switch 5.1
Explora (Primary) Pace 4P HDPVR (Secondary)
Xtraview - decoders same room - 3 distributed HDMI endpoints via 2x4 Matrix and Cat6
100/50 Fibre (OpenServe/AH Capped)
------------------------------------------
DSD1110 in holiday mode
DSTV Mobile via Drifta WiFi (S5& iPad)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2017-04-10 , 08:25
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 14,355
Quote:
Originally Posted by Luke7777 View Post
Maybe just UHF settings gone wrong between decoders and TVs?
No, for both TVs to have problems with both decoders' RF outputs it can't be caused by any tuning drift.
But a far too strong or incorrect TV-Link-power-carrying RF causing issues is a possibility, would be installer caused.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2017-04-10 , 22:46
sd_steve's Avatar
sd_steve sd_steve is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 445
The multichoice lady on the phone also mentioned the UHF which we changed but it did not work.

The installers came today and fixed it. Unfortunately I was not home to see what was done...so I can't report on the solution

Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
Reply
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"Insert SmartCard" issue Genesistt PVR Decoders 261 2017-05-26 14:56
The old "Insert Smartcard" issue DerekC PVR Decoders 39 2016-12-20 12:04
DSTV CONNECT cannot link smartcard PG31 Service Queries 5 2012-07-20 11:09
XtraView - smartcard swop required for the SD PVR MC Brenda XtraView 0 2008-12-03 09:43
SD-PVR SmartCard Upgrade for XtraView Patrick No 1 XtraView 14 2008-12-02 14:22