Reply
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2016-01-22 , 17:23
Hooked Hooked is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 14
Default Connect ID

If I have two PVR decoders on one account, not linked by extraview and therefore paying the full amount for Premium + PVR on both decoders, is it possible to get a separate connect ID linked to each smartcard so that e.g. Supersport can be streamed from two separate logins?
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2016-01-22 , 18:13
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,861
I'm not sure how soon you can get an answer to this being the weekend.

I would think unlikely as the connect ID is account linked and details all smartcards on it.

The alternative would be to ask for one of the subscriptions to be moved to a second account.
But I don't know how multiple accounts for one individual may works these days, you may need the name etc. of someone else in your household to do that.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2016-01-23 , 06:56
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,039
You can connect up to 4 smart devices using one Connect ID. So you should be able to watch two streams on two separate devices. Hope this helps.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2016-01-23 , 08:05
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,861
It's a good option for those with the right current smart devices and if screen size isn't a major concern.

There's FAQ info about it here: http://now.dstv.com/Home/Help

It would work concurrently;
You can register a maximum of four devices to your single DStv Premium PVR subscription. A maximum of two simultaneous viewing streams across your registered devices is permitted.
This means that you can either: be streaming two live TV channels OR stream two Catch Up videos OR stream one live TV channel and one Catch Up video.

But don't know if one can stream the same one live channel on the two different devices.

And I don't know if 2 x Desktop Players can also be registered, but presume if so they would then also work concurrently.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2016-01-23 , 23:01
Hooked Hooked is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 14
OK thanks, that's better news than I expected. So to confirm, would I be able to stream Supersport at the same time on two separate computers? Or would the 4 devices have to be different types of devices?

The other option is just move a decoder to another account... it would be a business account, what would be the easiest way to get this done?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2016-01-24 , 08:35
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,861
This detail will take Mod assistance. If nothing further from MC Marietjie or others by tomorrow afternoon I suggest sending PM's to MCA CCS Natasha (handles accounts) and MC Nic (handles DStv Now - and there is a forum section for that as well).
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2016-01-25 , 18:22
MCA CCS Natasha's Avatar
MCA CCS Natasha MCA CCS Natasha is offline
MultiChoice | Customer Care
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Randburg
Posts: 1,007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hooked View Post
OK thanks, that's better news than I expected. So to confirm, would I be able to stream Supersport at the same time on two separate computers? Or would the 4 devices have to be different types of devices?

The other option is just move a decoder to another account... it would be a business account, what would be the easiest way to get this done?
Yes, you could stream on two separate computers. You cannot access DStv Now with a business account - it is a function for Premium PVR residential customers only, with no rights for broadcast in office spaces or business environments.
__________________
Have a wonderful day
MCA CCS Natasha
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2017-02-24 , 09:35
edobulo edobulo is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2
Default ConnectID

Please help:
I have tried to use the self-service menu at selfservice.dstv.com, and when i log in i get the error "This smartcard is linked to another profile".

The tv gets the subscribed package from decoder ok.

It is very frustrating that i try and call customer service and they keep saying the same thing like send an email or asking if im sure i havent registered another email address.

Can someone help me out here????
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2017-02-24 , 10:26
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB , Orig. Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 13,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by edobulo View Post
Please help:
I have tried to use the self-service menu at selfservice.dstv.com, and when i log in i get the error "This smartcard is linked to another profile".

The tv gets the subscribed package from decoder ok.

It is very frustrating that i try and call customer service and they keep saying the same thing like send an email or asking if im sure i havent registered another email address.

Can someone help me out here????
Welcome :-)

Send a PM (private message) with a fault description, and your account and contact details to MC Solomon by clicking here
He'll get you sorted out.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2017-02-24 , 12:44
edobulo edobulo is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Posts: 2
Thanks.

I would contact him.
Reply With Quote
Reply
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Failure to connect Man99 Installation 1 2010-04-23 08:48
New DSTV user - how to connect DVD Jemima Installation 2 2010-04-22 11:11
How do I connect 4 TV's gordons Installation 11 2009-11-11 09:18
HD Set top box ? X/V connect. kenyon XtraView 3 2009-05-04 21:27
How to connect DSD1110X2 User Name XtraView 2 2009-02-16 15:16