Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2008-12-14 , 10:04
Jannie Jannie is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
Default HD PVR Remote IR Protocol

As posted in a number of threads here, with the 4/12/2008 update, the HD PVR stopped responding to the SD PVR codes.

While this is great for those who used the standard issue remote for both decoders, many people found their own workarounds with IR receivers that could blast IR, via IR probes, independently into the 2 decoders, both using the SD PVR codes.

This now stopped working.

A logical answer is to re-learn the HD PVR codes with the universal remotes that worked before.

But this is where the proverbial hits the rotating cooling device. It does not seem to work. Cannot get the new codes learned. Tried a number of different systems, even using a Crestron IR learner. While the codes seem to learn, they do not work when re-transmitted. The Crestron learner is an extremely powerful learner that will learn the most obscure codes, from sub-40KHz, right up to weird codes at 2MHz.

Yet, it also fails, as does Pronto's, etc.

So, two questions:

1) What exactly is the format of the new HD PVR codes? Does it conform to any standard, and if so, which one? Where can we get the detail spec of these codes?

Getting this info will help us understand how to regenerate them, so Home Automation applications will work once again. I've not been able to change channels on my HD decoder for a week now....

2) Secondly, is there any way to turn 'SD PVR' codes back on for the HD PVR? Since we do not have a conflict problem (due to the use of seperate IR probes), this would be a quick fix for the problem.

Any urgent help will be greatly appreciated.
  #2  
Old 2008-12-14 , 10:43
CASPER CASPER is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 290
The older type remote blasters do no not respond to the HDPVR remote codes. I had to replace my remote blasters with the latest model.
  #3  
Old 2008-12-14 , 22:00
: ) C4's Avatar
: ) C4 : ) C4 is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Planet Zogg
Posts: 1,437
The HD PVR uses the XMP1.0 protocol which is a common protocol and in use in more than 10 million devices the world over, including the UK and US.

For more information, you are welcome to contact www.uei.com
__________________
I don't believe in astrology. I am a Sagittarius and we're very skeptical.
~ Arthur C Clarke
  #4  
Old 2008-12-14 , 23:28
Jannie Jannie is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by : ) C4 View Post
The HD PVR uses the XMP1.0 protocol which is a common protocol and in use in more than 10 million devices the world over, including the UK and US.

For more information, you are welcome to contact www.uei.com
Thanks, will look into it.

I'm pretty sure there is then something else going on here and that something new or non-standard is at play. For well-known universal devices like Pronto and Crestron to not be able to re-generate these codes, something must be quite different.

In working with Crestron for more than 7 years, this is the first time it could not generate an IR code set.
  #5  
Old 2008-12-15 , 10:15
Jannie Jannie is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
Did a lot of reading on this and it seems the XMP protocol is a real ***** to learn.

Even UEI's own learning remotes, like the Nevo SL, cannot learn the XMP codes!

Seems the only way is to build the IR codes by hand but for this I need the XMP ID for the HD PVR remote.

Anyone know what this is?
  #6  
Old 2008-12-15 , 10:37
: ) C4's Avatar
: ) C4 : ) C4 is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Planet Zogg
Posts: 1,437
TV1 ID: S2059 (offset: 22089); Exec 364, Registration code: 17479 (4447h)
TV1 Owner Code: 1, Tag Number: 1,

TV2 ID: S2060 (offset: 22090); Exec 364, Registration code: 17480 (4448h)
TV2 Owner Code: 1, Tag Number: 2

TV3 ID: S2559 (offset: 22589); Exec 364, Registration code: 17479 (4447h)
TV3 Owner Code: 1, Tag Number: 2

TV4 ID: S2560 (offset: 22590); Exec 364, Registration code: 17480 (4448h)
TV4 Owner Code: 1, Tag Number: 1
__________________
I don't believe in astrology. I am a Sagittarius and we're very skeptical.
~ Arthur C Clarke
  #7  
Old 2008-12-15 , 10:50
Jannie Jannie is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by : ) C4 View Post
TV1 ID: S2059 (offset: 22089); Exec 364, Registration code: 17479 (4447h)
TV1 Owner Code: 1, Tag Number: 1,

TV2 ID: S2060 (offset: 22090); Exec 364, Registration code: 17480 (4448h)
TV2 Owner Code: 1, Tag Number: 2

TV3 ID: S2559 (offset: 22589); Exec 364, Registration code: 17479 (4447h)
TV3 Owner Code: 1, Tag Number: 2

TV4 ID: S2560 (offset: 22590); Exec 364, Registration code: 17480 (4448h)
TV4 Owner Code: 1, Tag Number: 1

Thanks, will try and make sense of this. Still learning about XMP.

Noob question, which one will be the 'default' set for the HD PVR? TV1, I assume?

Lastly, no way to just re-enable SD PVR codes on the HD PVR?

Thanks for all the help so far, BTW.
  #8  
Old 2008-12-15 , 18:34
Jannie Jannie is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
More feedback.

I can now generate the correct IR XMP codes and the SD PVR will respond to them EVERY single time.

But the HD PVR will only respond every 3rd or 4th try.

I noticed even with the HD PVR's own remote, the unit is very slow to respond to the remote control.

Anyone else seen this?
  #9  
Old 2008-12-15 , 22:37
: ) C4's Avatar
: ) C4 : ) C4 is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Planet Zogg
Posts: 1,437
The reaction time on the HD is due to the OS being extremely slow. We hope to address the performance issue (at least partially) round about mid -2009.
__________________
I don't believe in astrology. I am a Sagittarius and we're very skeptical.
~ Arthur C Clarke
  #10  
Old 2008-12-15 , 23:23
Jannie Jannie is offline
Still listens to the wireless
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by : ) C4 View Post
The reaction time on the HD is due to the OS being extremely slow. We hope to address the performance issue (at least partially) round about mid -2009.
I've pretty much spent two full days on this and can't see a quick solution.

What are the chances of getting the SD PVR codes back (as a menu option) on the HD PVR?
 
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off