Forum > Decoders > PVR Decoders > New explora software
Reply  
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2018-04-16 , 00:59
JeanP's Avatar
JeanP JeanP is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: JHB
Posts: 3,201
Question New explora software

So my decoder all of a sudden just decided to update. Loader version 3.4.62

Why not wait for the maintenance time. Also I wasn't aware there was new SW available
__________________
In The Tardis (buzzing through space and time )

Explora 1
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 2018-04-16 , 01:07
Hubert's Avatar
Hubert Hubert is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Earth, Milky Way
Posts: 248
Same here. Random upgrade and reboot in the middle of viewing something.
__________________
Don't you wish there was a knob on the TV to turn up the intelligence? There's one marked "Brightness", but it doesn't work.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 2018-04-16 , 09:48
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB
Posts: 15,624
That's not update version info, look at "Load ver/var" in Loader Status.
(Look at the dates involved in that menu section as well.)
And you didn't say which Explora guys.

There's no update on my Explora 1 this morning.

Maybe just a security patch, there's been a lot of nonsense going on again this weekend.
(I don't consider security nonsense, just the way MC always handles it with little or no regard for what by default must be their prime concern... customers )
But, I'm seeing a couple of quick blue screen flashes this morning, so it looks like it's not fully resolved.

Seen or heard about this weekend;
1. DD audio issues with the new 109 Marvel pop-up channel (I think this one is more likely another QA issue) in these threads: Marvel pop up channel 109 audio issues and Ch 109 - Marvel Movies HD Popup Problems
2. In that second thread there's also blue screens reported on the same channel, but perhaps of a different sort or intentional in this case.
3. HDMI signal problems mentioned here (may not be related): Explora 2 and HDMI
4. This thread.

Certainly something going on again...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 2018-04-16 , 10:36
JeanP's Avatar
JeanP JeanP is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: JHB
Posts: 3,201
Was explora 1
__________________
In The Tardis (buzzing through space and time )

Explora 1
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 2018-04-16 , 12:57
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,408
Folks there is an upgrade happening this week - will ask MC Sandipa to post details for you.

Last edited by MC Marietjie; 2018-04-16 at 13:00. .
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 2018-04-16 , 13:29
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB
Posts: 15,624
Please would she include this info, it's always needed and for future referencing as well;

Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Sandipa View Post
ok thanks all: Here you go...

DStv Explora L82 [latest was actually L83 (we see it as 83/2)]
DStv Explora 2A L29
DStv 4U L46
DStv 4S L46
DStv 4S2 L24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Optimist View Post
Thanks Sandipa. What about the series 5 models please (4137)?
Many thanks

Last edited by Optimist; 2018-04-16 at 13:31. .
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 2018-04-16 , 14:34
Optimist's Avatar
Optimist Optimist is offline
Changes remote batteries hourly
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: N/E JHB
Posts: 15,624
This was added in one of the threads I mentioned;

Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Trisan View Post
Hello

There was a major broadcast error last night. We apologise for the inconvenience caused. All issues should have been resolved on the channel later last night.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 2018-04-16 , 15:09
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,684
and very slow to load EPG info over the weekend on my daughter's Explora 1

The decoder tried to do a sw update but the update failed and the decoder had to be rebooted. No change in the version shown after the failure.
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, PACE 4T HD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(3) PSU's, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1.
Spare switches and LNBs: 1 x 5-1(repaired); 1 x 5-2.Numerous so called faulty LNBs that were easily repaired.
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2 x (2x6) MS, FSM permanently connected.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 2018-04-16 , 15:28
MC Marietjie's Avatar
MC Marietjie MC Marietjie is offline
MultiChoice
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Johannesburg, Gauteng
Posts: 8,408
@Geoff - the software update is only being released to decoders from today in a staggered approach, so any technical issues on decoder this weekend cannot be from this update.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 2018-04-16 , 17:12
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,684
Quote:
Originally Posted by MC Marietjie View Post
@Geoff - the software update is only being released to decoders from today in a staggered approach, so any technical issues on decoder this weekend cannot be from this update.

Well we did not imagine the attempted update! Maybe someone "jumped the gun" and then aborted the process?

Makes sense to me as the sw version did not change. All that happened is we lost what we were viewing at the time.

The good news is us with older decoders had a weekend of peace for a change!
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, PACE 4T HD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(3) PSU's, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1.
Spare switches and LNBs: 1 x 5-1(repaired); 1 x 5-2.Numerous so called faulty LNBs that were easily repaired.
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2 x (2x6) MS, FSM permanently connected.

Last edited by Geoff D; 2018-04-16 at 17:20. .
Reply With Quote
Reply  
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Explora software JeanP PVR Decoders 40 2016-03-04 12:12
New Explora software - feedback and questions Optimist PVR Decoders 78 2015-05-05 07:57
New software for the DStv Explora MC Fathima PVR Decoders 0 2015-04-15 10:13
DSD 1110, new software, and new smartcard Terrence Standard decoder 0 2011-12-22 10:14
New Software.....New Problem!!! tony r HD PVR 35 2009-01-13 09:16