Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 2009-07-21 , 16:41
Minsc Minsc is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 17
Question Help needed: Going on holiday

Hi, need some assistance please. I started off with a DSD990 Decoder and recently upgraded to a HD-PVR. The DSD990 Decoder is still lying around at home with its own smart card but it is not being used. I'm going on holiday soon and the flat I'm going to stay in has a single view decoder (no idea what model) so I just need to bring a smart card with according to the letting agency. Now from what I understand I cannot use the HD-PVR smart card which only leaves me with the old (DSD990) smart card.

My question(s):
1. Can I re-activate the old smart card on my account and temporarily disable the HD-PVR smart card?
2. And if so, can this be done telephonically via the Multichoice customer care center after I arrive at my holiday destination or must I physically go to the customer care center and arrange it before going on holiday?
3. Will there be any additional costs involved?

Thanks.
  #2  
Old 2009-07-22 , 11:03
Geoff D Geoff D is online now
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 16,591
Good Luck!
__________________
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, PACE 4T HD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR(3) PSU's, DSD 660, 1110, 1131, Explora 1.
Spare switches and LNBs: 1 x 5-1(repaired); 1 x 5-2.Numerous so called faulty LNBs that were easily repaired.
2 unmentionable FTA decoders
1.2m antenna, 8-way universal LNB, 2 x (2x6) MS, FSM permanently connected.
  #3  
Old 2009-07-27 , 10:16
JG's Avatar
JG JG is offline
Changes remote batteries daily
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,700
You can have your old smartcard activated telephonically when you arrive at your holiday destination.
I don't see a problem with deactivating your HD for that period, but depending on the duration of your holiday, you may consider having both enabled. That way your HDPVR will still record your shows as a backup copy, should you miss a show while on holiday. You will then be charged pro rata for the other smartcard. TV should not rule holiday plans!!!

Remember to call the callcentre to make sure that the card was de-activated when you return from holiday. Arranging a date for the card to be disabled has never worked for me before. Every time when I phoned back to check if it was deactivated, it was still active.
  #4  
Old 2009-07-27 , 14:48
Minsc Minsc is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 17
Smile

Thank you for the reply . Actually that is not a bad suggestion, I will enable the card for the period we are on holiday & leave the HD-PVR alone. Much less hassle.
  #5  
Old 2009-07-27 , 15:26
MCA CCS Natasha's Avatar
MCA CCS Natasha MCA CCS Natasha is offline
MultiChoice | Customer Care
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Randburg
Posts: 1,007
Quote:
Can I re-activate the old smart card on my account and temporarily disable the HD-PVR smart card?
Yes, you can - tell the reps to use the holiday home reason code
Quote:
And if so, can this be done telephonically via the Multichoice customer care center after I arrive at my holiday destination or must I physically go to the customer care center and arrange it before going on holiday?
Yep - please ensure that the smartcard is in the decoder when you call the call centre
Quote:
Will there be any additional costs involved?
If you leave the HDPVR on, then yes, you will pay for the additional number of days you view on the holiday home smartcard - if not, then no (The one charge offsets the disconnect of the other smartcard)
  #6  
Old 2009-07-27 , 15:30
Minsc Minsc is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 17
Talking

Thank you Natasha
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off