Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21  
Old 2012-04-17 , 09:40
Bossie Bossert's Avatar
Bossie Bossert Bossie Bossert is offline
Has mastered the i-Plate and DStv guide
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: PE
Posts: 455
Default Throwing remote against the wall AGAIN

With the change from 09:00 to 09:01 remote control (control????) delayed by about 30 seconds while watching 180, i, scrolling right got stuck on 250 info then not by my doing, shot back to 180. Control was regained ater the delay.

(Put batteries back in after mending remote pieces with SuperGlue.)
__________________
"Good Engouh" is not Good Enough! (Growing old by Staying young . . .)
Reality is Truth. Logic is a Mastered Art (hjb)
RSSI T1 100%: QoS 100% Stable: 85cm Dish > SatCr Unifeed > Explora:
Explora HDMI > 51 Samsung Plasma HD 3D
Explora Optical-1 and Coax-2 > Sherwood 5.1
XtraView SatCr Legacy LNB > 1110 decoder
HB Explora RF Out > RF In 1110 > HDR 32 Samsung LCD

Last edited by Bossie Bossert; 2012-04-17 at 09:45. . Reason: cpntents
  #22  
Old 2012-04-17 , 10:06
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 13,001
We are all out there and waiting for a solution --- Still have not been able to see the same on my UEC HDPVR -- I have the problem but it is random, and not only on the hour/half hour --- seems to strike at the most incovenient moments.

I have an extra frustration, - anyone who persists to press more keys gets the decoder to stop responding completely, after which a reboot is the only solution.
__________________
"Bandwidth, or more accurate, Data Rate, is a commodity, not a value added service"
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR, PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131
  #23  
Old 2012-04-17 , 10:18
ynot's Avatar
ynot ynot is offline
Still gets up to change channels
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Johannesburg
Posts: 13
I have been wondering about the time issue. Is it not perhaps when the over air handshake occurs with the smartcard and the buffer in the Decoder bombs out. I know that the over handshake is timed but I am not sure how often it is sent.
  #24  
Old 2012-04-17 , 10:26
Geoff D Geoff D is offline
Technical Myriad
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PTA
Posts: 13,001
Bossie has analysed this in depth - see all his posts.

In principal it is but the real issue is the processor does not have the processing power to handle all the interupts at times. This is an old problem Id'd when the very first PACE 4T decoder came out. MC has workarounds for some of the issues but in the end, the problem remains.

There was a claim that later versions of the PACE 4T and the UEC 4T and the 2P all had better processors.

Having opened the 4T decoders I have, and had a look, all I can say is that the processor chipset in my decoders are all obsolete legacy devices already.
__________________
"Bandwidth, or more accurate, Data Rate, is a commodity, not a value added service"
Easyview, UEC 4T HD PVR, SD PVR, XV
Spare decoders: SD PVR, PACE HD PVR 4T, DSD 660, 1110, 1131
 
« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads  | You may not post replies  | You may not post attachments  | You may not edit your posts
BB code is On  | Smilies are On  | [IMG] code is On  | HTML code is Off
Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sound Delays Donns DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 10 2012-04-02 20:25
Content delays MC Nic DStv Forum Archive (12 May 2014) 18 2012-02-03 15:13
VENT !! : WTF is up with Poor Remote Functionality the last 2 days !! SethGecko HD PVR 7 2010-09-22 10:56
HD PVR Functionality ocbos Service Queries 9 2010-04-20 14:58
PVR Functionality Boffy SD PVR 1 2009-09-18 14:23